We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very useful hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Charleroi
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel is so convenient for the SNCB station being just the other side of the canal from the station. English is spoken by all the staff and all are very helpful. If you have a room in the front of the hotel (the majority) there is a slight background noise from the elevated motorway but not enough to keep me awake .For some unknown reason the trams stop running just after 8 p m so they cause no problem. My room (103) was well appointed and the bathroom door could be opened to give a second soundproofing door against noise in the corridor.
The selection at breakfast (served from 4. 30 a m ) was good. regular travellers will know that if they see a coach unloading the night before it is best to start breakfast before 7 a m.
RECOMENDED .P S I note that someone said that it is in the middle of the red light district, I went out both evenings I was there and didn't see anything to support that claim.
Just round the corner in Place Busset is the "La Gondola" Italian restaurant which does not only serve Italian food. It has an English menu. You will be able top see the rolls which are served with your meal being backed in an open oven, they are realey good. Again recommended.

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrioibis, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Sir, Madam,

First of all, I would like to thank you for the comment you post regarding the area.
Many thanks for that.

I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay due to the staff courtesy.
It is true that the hotel is ideally located.

the breakfast is served from 04.30 till 10.00 AM. If there are some rush moment expected, feel free to ask it at the reception. We know about it and we could let you know.

We hope to see you next time.

Best regards,

Dimitrio Virone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 450 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

Well, unless you really have to stay local to here, avoid, avoid avoid!

Right in the middle of a red light district! We took a stroll around the vicinity of the hotel and were surrounded by drug addicts, prostitutes and their clients. Other people making their way to the station were clearly unsettled and walk as quickly as possible not making eye contact with anyone. The area looks like it is the middle of a regeneration program with abandoned and half demolished buildings all around it.

The hotel itself is clean enough but poorly renovated. The curtains do not fully obscure the bright lights at the front of the building so the room was never dark. The windows did not seem to fit properly and did little to hide peoples voices in the street below (we were on the first floor)

The room was small but adequate. there is no tea/coffee making facility in the room, no safe and only one extra pillow was available in the room. There was only a soap dispenser provided in the bathroom. The shower was hot and powerful but one of the shower heads kept falling off.

We could find no local cafe so we booked to have breakfast. Oh dear, the coffee machine was broken, the egg boiler didn't work, there was one sorry looking crepe on display and no more were brought out. The bread had run out and whilst we were there was not topped up. The beans had a thick dark skin on them as if they had been there for hours and the eggs looked awful. The only saving grace where the croissants which seemed fresh. (no staff were around until the coffee machine started leaking on to the floor)

The reception staff were all very polite and helpful and I felt sorry for them. They really were trying their best in a very bad situation.

To sum up. Room average, Hotel average, location yuk! Breakfast, throw your 14 Euros out the window and go without. Staff good considering the conditions.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else. Rear overlooks red light activity, front is noisy and very bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vince P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrioibis, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Sir, Madam,

I'm so sorry to read your disappointment.
I would like to inform you that the area is on a renovation way. The works done are made in order to make it reniewed. It is a very positive project which is going on.

I would like you to come back in the near future to see how uit has changed.

All the Ibis rooms are standardized. There is no coffee and tea facilities as Ibis is an economic brand.
the hotel has been fully renovated this yrae. You may enjoy wood florr in every rooms.

Regarding the breakfast, I feel very sorry that you find it as described. Be sure that it was an incident that occures once. We worked in order to improve it.

We hope to see you in the near future.

Best regards,

Dimitrio Virone
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

If you are visiting the hotel in Spring 2014 try to avoid the station facing rooms. There are major construction works taking place and diggers and heavy plant start work at 7:00 AM. We stayed at a room facing away from the works and were not disturbed.
This is a standard Ibis with rediculously expensive breakfast. The car park costs 10E and although asking for a non smoking room we could still smell smoke from elsewhere in the hotel.
Arriving late, we were greeted by a very friendly and welcoming member of staff who couldn't have been more helpful.

Room Tip: Book rooms away from the construction work between the hotel and he station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldo_Bonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrioibis, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Sir, Madam,

I understand that the works in the city may be cause of some inconvenience. Be sure that they are working in order to improve and dynamise the city.

We always focus on a tip top guest service and I'm happy to read that your were satisfied about it.

At the breakfast, we propose a large range of products as pancakes, fresh oranger juice,.. That kind of products are the reason of the breakfast rate.

The hotel has been fully renovated last month with wood floor in every rooms. The hotel is now 100% no smoking.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Dimitrio Virone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

It is difficult to find new ways of describing an IBIS hotel as they are normally all up to a high standard. The hotel is opposite the rail/tram/bus interchange so little walking is needed. the hotel is quiet as the interchange area is separated by a canal. the town area is being pedestrianised so no heavy traffic passes.

We did not eat in the hotel except for a late night pizza which was excellent. The bar was well stocked when we arrived .

The town is the centre of the steel making industry and slowly being closed but does not look very nice. However a short run out of the town brings you to the countryside so go and enjoy.

We bought runabout tickets that are valid for tram,metro and buses in a large area. At 4 Euros a day they are good value.

Would I return yes if need be but it is not a holiday destination but it is near the local airport served by Ryanair.

Room Tip: all rooms to the front and along the side road should be quiet however I do not know about the rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrioibis, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear sir,madam,

I would like to thank you for the time you took in order to put your comment on TripAdvisor website.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel location.

In order to eat in our hotel, it is possible 24 hours a day with some hot snacks such as spaghetti bolognaise and pizza's.

From Charleroi you may reach cities as Namur, Brussels very easily.

We hope to see you at your next Belgium trip.

Beste regards,

Dimitrio Virone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great location and that's really it. It's an Ibis so you shouldn't expect too much. Staff was very courteous and that was the only high apart from location. Room was quite small, very tired and not exactly clean. The breakfast was so-so. As an overnight stay it was OK though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmsglc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrioibis, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam,

I would like to thank you for the time you took in order to put your advise on TripAdvisor website.

I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed the quality of the service.

I agree with you that the room is a little bit old. I'm pleased to inform you that some renovals are expected to begin this monday.

Looking forward welcoming you for your next trip to Charleroi City.

Best regards,

Dimitrio Virone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Despite the warm remarks about the town in the review from Deantuam, Charleroi by most people's standards is a bit of a dump. And it has been since I first went there in the 1970s. So if you don't plan to spend very long there, why not make do with a cheap and shabby hotel?
Climb narrow stairs with a worn carpet to a tired corridor. I got a small bedroom with neat, clean twin beds, minimal hanging space, shaky work top that partly covered the small cushioned seat. But it also had a very good free WiFi connection. The small en-suite had shower and basin - each with soap dispenser - and a toilet.
A 2-minute walk across the pedestrian bridge that spans the canal outside the hotel and you are at the tram/bus station with the railway station adjacent. There is a direct bus service to Charleroi airport (Brussels South in Ryanair-speak). I have no idea where you would park if you arrived by car. Road outside is likely to be a working site for a while yet.
Surprisingly the Ibis offered an excellent buffet breakfast. I even had a couple of soft boiled eggs to which I was able to add olive oil in the way that I like.
If it hadn't redeemed itself with breakfast, I'm afraid I would have marked this Ibis down to 2 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Normanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrioibis, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear sir,

I would like to thank you for the time you took to post your comment on TripAdvisor.

We agree with you that Charleroi city is in working. But, be sure that it would be very beter in a few month.
If you come to our hotel by car, we have a prive and secure car park.

At Ibis we always work in order to provide the best service and product for the best price.

We provide to all our guest an all you can eat breakfast buffet with a wide choice of products.

Best regards,

Dimitrio Virone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Mention Charleroi to most people and they think 'RyanAir hub en route to Brussels.' And that's a pity. Because Charleroi itself, it's upper and lower town from Place Charles II right down to Quai de Flandre has lots to offer. It's an ideal destination for a weekend break in its own right. And an excellent place to stay is Ibis Centre Gare just opposite the railway station on the banks of the Sambre River.
The hotel is an Ibis ( as the name suggests ) and so you know what you're going to get. Neat, clean, warm, no-frills but comfortable and value for money:- a weekend here won't cost a mortage! In-house services are basic but adequate. There's even a bar area in reception. But it is the location that is the key to this hotel.
Littlerally around the corner is my favourite restaurant, la Bruxelloise. This is flanked by Empire Ottoman and la Gondola, two more good eateries. A few yards from these is a small Carrefour mini market and a couple of friendly bars. There is a bank with an ATM right beside the Ibis.
For those who want to move about a bit, the railways station is just across the footbridge spanning la Sambre. From here it is a short and inexpensive trip to Brussels itself or to the battlefield of Waterloo.
The sprawling Sunday Market brings me back to Charleroi again and again. Flowers, fruit & veg, nick-nacks, clothes, pets, gifts, souvenirs....the Sunday Market has everything. And when you're dopping after shopping, take a seat outside any of the several cafés in Place Charles II ( my favourite is Taverne le Tonneau ) and treat yourself to a hot choclate.
Ibis Gare is a short taxi ride from the airport. And the taxi drivers mostly speak English. but beware! A lot of these lads drive like the devil!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deantuam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrioibis, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam,

I would like to thank you for the great and positive comment you put on the website about Charleroi City.
I agree with you that Charleroi has a lot to offer.

I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel location.

At Ibis, we always work in order to provide the best service and the best level of quality for a good value for money.

We hope to welcome you again at your next trip to Charleroi

Best regards,

Dimitrio Virone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charleroi
4.2 mi away
Charleroi Airport Hotel
Charleroi Airport Hotel
#1 of 10 in Charleroi
1,353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Charleroi City Center
5.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Charleroi Aeroport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Aero 44
Best Western Plus Aero 44
#3 of 10 in Charleroi
259 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Balladins Charleroi / Airport
3.4 mi away
Hotel South
Hotel South
#2 of 10 in Charleroi
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare

Address: Quai de Flandre 12, Charleroi 6000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > Hainaut Province > Charleroi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Charleroi
Price Range: $58 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ibis Charleroi Gare , completely renovated, has modern rooms in the center of the city, just a quarter mile from Charleroi-South Train Station. It has a 24-hour bar and free Wi-Fi throughout. Brussels South Charleroi Airport is a 15-minute bus ride ( 5 euros ). Each of the rooms at the Hotel ibis Charleroi Gare are air-conditioned and come equipped with a flat-screen TV and a work desk. The rooms also have a private bathroom with a walk-in shower. The Musee des Beaux-Arts, in the heart of the historic center, is a 18-minute walk away. References to comic book culture are scattered throughout the city in the form of murals and statues. Ibis is 10 minutes from the Centre de Culture Scientifique by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Charleroi Centre Gare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing