We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It ain't half hot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Charleroi
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It ain't half hot”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

If you want to have a hot uncomfortable sleepless night this is the hotel for you. The air-conditioning has just one setting "sticky hot air". And don't try to open a window because they are screwed tightly closed. I have never ever stayed in a hotel room that has been so uncomfortable and all the hotel management could offer in explanation was "silence". What happened to the "fix in 15 miniutes promise".
On the plus side the location is good, as was breakfast.

Room Tip: LOOK FOR ANOTHER HOTEL. ANY OTHER HOTEL. Maybe on a bench in the park you would get more sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterclegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrioibis, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,

I'm sorry to read that you was disappointed by your stay at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare.
I understand that it is not confortable when it is too hot in the room. You may be sure that we have worked on that problem and that it is now fix.
I agree that my team may have suggest you a solution.
Be sure that such a problem will not happen again in the future.

Best regards,

Dimitrio Virone
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    174
    133
    36
    21
See reviews for
52
141
58
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We used this hotel as a stop off point on the way down to southern Germany. We were hot tired, and ready for a break. On arrival, we pulled in to the short stay bays at the front of the hotel. The front exterior was nice, the reception was nice, and the room was nice. At this point everything was ok, nothing great, but it did the job. The trouble started after we had unpacked our car.

We were told we must park the car in the 'secure' car park at the back of the hotel. We drove round and suddenly we were down a very rough alley, with strange 'shop windows'. The car park we pulled into had glass smashed on the floor, and the area it was in looked rather dodgy. We then realized we had to walk back round the front, and were fairly concerned, as we noticed some women getting changed in the windows. It suddenly all clicked, the hotel is in the middle of a red light district! Very concerning. It was getting late, at this point we went back to our room and hoped everything would be ok.

The beds were comfortable, but the hotel is located in a very noisy busy area. After little sleep, and in the early hours of the morning, we heard banging on our door, and suddenly the chain was broken and the door was open. Two foreign women were stood staring at us, and suddenly hurried off. Think they got the wrong room? The next morning we were up early glad to be leaving, as we walked round to the car, we noticed that prostitutes were still walking the streets and sat in the windows. This was at about 7:30am on a sunday morning. A pair even tried to flag our car down as we were leaving.

Overall, it was a horrible experience, but really it wasn't the hotels fault. I wouldn't stay here again any time soon...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DisneyTripper251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charleroi hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

I stayed here for two nights while visiting Charleroi to attend a concert.

The hotel is super convenient being located directly across from the train station. Check-in was quick, easy and friendly. Our room was simple but an ample size for the two of us and had a toilet with shower. Basic soap in a dispenser is provided so remember and take your own toiletries if you want seperate shampoo/conditioner etc.

We visited during the spring heatwave and the room was extremely hot, despite trying the air-con on different settings I just couldn't get it to blow any cold air so we had to have the windows open which was effective but noisy!

The choice at breakfast is great, a typical continental spread along with a boil your own egg station. Lots of different types of spreads, yoghurts and fruit purees.

Free wifi in the room was great and worked well though they also have one larger PC in the lobby for public access.

Really this is a good basic hotel that absolutely serves its purpose of providing good service and a place to lay your head.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MintTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in March. I was comped by Ibis for work-related reasons but I see the weekend rate is less than 70 euro. Based on my experience of Ibis Charleroi, I think this is a bargain.

With the best will in the world, this hotel is not going to win any awards, but it's a perfectly acceptable budget hotel. Location is superb, directly opposite the train station and at the southern tip of the city centre. Check in was hassle free and up to the room (212) on the 2nd floor. Room was average in size, clean, and with a flat screen TV offering about 20 channels - including BBC1 & 2. Bed was big and comfy. Room could have used a bin, though (there was one in the bathroom). Decent view out of the front of the hotel across to the station.

Bathroom was actually a shower room. Small but perfectly fine.

The hotel had free WiFi and there was also a free internet PC (a new stand alone with a big screen and very fast) by reception. There's a bar there as well, and you get free peanuts with your beer.

Had breakfast both mornings. It's 13.50 euro if you're paying which seems reasonable. It's a buffet affair with limited hot options (scrambled eggs, sausages) but a decent choice of breads, cheese, cold meats, cereals and various spreads and toppings, etc. The restaurant doesn't do evening meals but there's a couple of restaurants around the corner. We tried one - La Gondola - which has a wood-fired pizza oven (two pizzas and two drinks - 25 euro).

Anyway, back to Ibis. I have to say that I was impressed with the staff - helpful and friendly - especially 'Jean' who had a testing evening on our second night when the hotel developed an electrical fault that knocked out power to the lift and some guest rooms (not ours, our this review might not be so gushing). Jean handled a number of complaints with courtesy, you could see he did actually care about the situation, and that's good to see.

I'd stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the front of the hotel if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magpie1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charleroi
4.2 mi away
Charleroi Airport Hotel
Charleroi Airport Hotel
#1 of 9 in Charleroi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Charleroi City Center
4.2 mi away
Hotel Balladins Charleroi / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aero 44
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aero 44
#5 of 9 in Charleroi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel South
Hotel South
#2 of 9 in Charleroi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Charleroi Aeroport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare

Property: Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
Address: Quai de Flandre 12, Charleroi 6000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > Hainaut Province > Charleroi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Charleroi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ibis Charleroi Gare , completely renovated, has modern rooms in the center of the city, just a quarter mile from Charleroi-South Train Station. It has a 24-hour bar and free Wi-Fi throughout. Brussels South Charleroi Airport is a 15-minute bus ride ( 5 euros ). Each of the rooms at the Hotel ibis Charleroi Gare are air-conditioned and come equipped with a flat-screen TV and a work desk. The rooms also have a private bathroom with a walk-in shower. The Musee des Beaux-Arts, in the heart of the historic center, is a 18-minute walk away. References to comic book culture are scattered throughout the city in the form of murals and statues. Ibis is 10 minutes from the Centre de Culture Scientifique by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Charleroi Centre Gare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing