We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite restaurants in Brussels”
Review of la canne en ville

la canne en ville
Ranked #204 of 3,623 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $130
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“One of my favourite restaurants in Brussels”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This is one of my favourite restaurants in Brussels and one which never disappoints. It is set in a converted butchers shop and comprises three small rooms so a cosy atmoshpere is guaranteed. The menu is Belgo-French, elaborate without being in the least pretentious, and, even though I have a lot of dietary restrictions, I always find plenty of choice. Where necessary, the kitchen is always ready to tweak a dish in order for it to fit my regime. On this occasion, I had a wonderful pigeon for starter (with the sauce duly modified for me) followed by fish. We had the house wine which was excellent. The ambience is convivial and informal, and one is never rushed: this is really a place for people who enjoy a relaxed night out and good food.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    43
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgirate
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This restaurant delivers time after time!”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Why are some places so good? Attention to their customers, excellent food, wine, service and good atmosphere?
Yes! That's it! Never fails

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank FrancescaBelgirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A joke of a restaurant”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Yet another home cook having delusions of "grandeur"...
The facts: a good half hour to have the menus on the table. Ten more minutes to have the first drinks. A waitress that would be more fit in a cheap brasserie...
To make a long, very long (more than 3 hours...) story short: amateurish, incompetent and unpleasant service; home-cook level food and presentation, completely devoid of imagination, creativity, finesse; 70 euros per person (without dessert or coffee). What more to say? STAY CLEAR!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete_Bxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best meat in town”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Since years I go to that restaurant and I was never disappointed. The food is just amazing. If you have the chance go there in autumn to discover the deer menu, that will blow your mind.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level 6 Contributor
866 reviews
638 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,424 helpful votes
“Impeccable”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

"Impeccable" in french is sort of spotless. The menu is interesting and all what we had was excellent. We had two different starters and two different main courses and they were top quality. The wine list is short, but very well selected. And then the service. Smiles over smiles make you feel really welcome. And 60 euros per person with 1 bottle and 1/2 of wine it's a welcome surprise.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank apalmero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed la canne en ville also viewed

Ixelles, Brussels
 
Ixelles, Brussels
 
Ixelles, Brussels
 

Been to la canne en ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing