We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“From Fabulous to coffee shop material” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Bocconi

Ristorante Bocconi
Reserve with
Ristorante Bocconi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 3,490 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $53 - $79
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: In Restaurant BoCConi you will find authentic Italian cuisine enhanced with high quality products issued from the savoir faire of the best Italians producers. It is like being in Italy inside Brussels.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
141 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“From Fabulous to coffee shop material”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This used to be one of Brussels better Italian's not cheap but excellence is worth a price.
It was so good I celebrated many events (Bdays, anniversaries, weddings to regular romantic meals)
Unfortunaly on my last visit it had changed drastically and from to level restaurant it now has
become the equivalent of an average coffee shop. Where have the table cloth and flowers gone?
The service? And most inportantly the overall quality of the food and ingredients?
The lobster pasta is now 1/2 lobster so small it should be illigal to fish, drenched in tomato sauce.
The other dishes were just a pale comparison to their previously grand cooking. What a shame!
One can hardly believe that this place is still under the consultance of Fulvio Pierangelini...

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Xofi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Team J, Restaurant Manager at Ristorante Bocconi, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for coming several times at the BoCConi and share your impressions relating your recent experience at the Bocconi.

As you could see the decoration of the restaurant has slightly changed. Now, we have opened our new terrace.

In regards the service and the portion of the food, we are sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations like it used to be in your past visits. Rest assured that I have taken good notes of your comments which have already been forwarded with the entire team.

I hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back at the Bocconi in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean François Delaunay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    219
    83
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“40th Birthday Dinner - Splendid!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and I ate here for my 40th birthday, and it was perfect. The staff was friendly and attentive. The food was wonderful, and my dessert souffle was amazing! Thank you for a perfect night I will never forget.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rossome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Team J, Restaurant Manager at Ristorante Bocconi, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Sir,

We are very happy to learn that you and your wife enjoyed your 40th Birthday Dinner celebration here at the Ristorante Bocconi and my colleagues helped to make it such a memorable occasion for you both.

I have shared your very kind comments with everyone, particularly with our Executive Chef in regards to the food that you very much appreciated.

We express to you and your wife our very best wishes and look forward to your return to the Ristorante Bocconi in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean François Delaunay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“there is good food near the grand place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The concierge said you couldn't find any good food near the grand place and he was wrong. This place is wonderful. We had a great meal and the staff was attentive and friendly. It was busy but not crowded. The booths are romantic but they have plenty of tables as well. The food was excellent - the panzanella is amazing (more mozarella buffalo than bread) and don't miss the hot berry souffle for dessert. I couldn't be happier with our meal here!! Out of 20 other tables I barely heard any other English speakers - so great if you are trying to avoid a tourist trap which is hard to do in that area. Regarding the previous reviews - the restaurant must have read them and improved its service beacuse it was not slow at all on a busy Friday night. I also suggest ordering a la carte like we did, the set menu the people next to us were having didn't look nearly as good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meredith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great decor, good food, fair value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Dined here for lunch and dinner whilst staying in the hotel. I dont normally like hotel restaurants, as they tend to be tourist traps serving overpriced generic interpretations of whatever cuisine they pretend to be representing.

Firstly the pricing; I was plesantly surprised. Sure its not "cheap", but walk around the square and you will find that a lot of similar restaurants (not the pubs/cheap eateries of course) charge comparable prices - with less atmosphere and decor. Very reasonable for what you get, an upmarket setting in arguably the finest hotel in the city - almost a bargain in relative terms and far better value that any of the tourist traps in the vicinity.

Food wise it was disappointing that the pasta wasnt freshly made, at this price point one would hope for fresh pasta rather than the dried variety. Other than that however the food was pretty good, they do grilled seafood/meat well and deserts were also excellent. Service likewise was efficient (despite being close to capacity) and friendly, the latter of which is difficult to find in 5 star hotels.

Brussels isnt an expensive city compared to some of its neighbours and there are cheaper alternatives in the area, but this is still a fair choice if you want a nice meal in an upmarket setting.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FatcatJunketeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“good italian...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

service with a smile decorated in italian style authentic cuisine excellent wine list great atmosphere

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Renovazio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Bocconi also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Ristorante Bocconi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing