We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated tourist trap” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Antoine

Maison Antoine
Ranked #135 of 3,492 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Belgian, Fast Food, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Overrated tourist trap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Recently went to Maison Antoine and left quite disappointed - and we didn't even have to fare through the usual long line as we hit it during an unusual lull. Every time we walk by this chips shops the two lines are constant and we had heard of the famous fries served here. Unfortunately we found them to be undercooked and stale tasting. The sauces (we tried the mayonnaise as well as the piri piri) were awful. I would not wait in line for these - a better alternative is definitely Flagey Frites. Sadly disappointed with our experience here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank athomeabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    425
    227
    101
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Agia Paraskevi, Greece
Level Contributor
201 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“SOMETHING DIFFERENT”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

In this kiosk the main course is fried potatoes,with variety of sauces,served in twist of paper.
There are no seats - tables to eat,and always there is a lot of people in queue.
It is a food experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kdeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almassora, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Haute fast food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Despite the fact that you are suppose to be queuing for a while (in our case, for 50 minuts), the food is good enough (and quite affordable) to be considered as a good option to have a dinner. Although, they prepare fast food, it is true, that the food they cook is above the average of other fast food places.

Helpful?
Thank siserte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“U've got to try it....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Great idea amazing taste, I had the original must try fries and the delicious meat balls, great portion for lunch and very affordable... Yummm

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Georges L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Belgian fries!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Excellent take-away for original Belgian fries and great veriety of sauces. Been there many times - only "complaint" may be that the place is popular, and I had to line up a few minutes more than once. I love to take my fries to a pub next door and have them with a beer. All surrounding pubs accept bringing in fries...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maison Antoine also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Ixelles, Brussels
 
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Maison Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing