We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not eat "à la carte"...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Da Mimmo

Da Mimmo
Ranked #1,103 of 3,523 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $72 - $287
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Huldenberg, Belgium
Level Contributor
137 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Do not eat "à la carte"...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Everything mentioned by my colleagues reviewers turned out to be true: the food and wines are very good, but if you don't stick to the business lunch, you'll get ripped. I was perhaps more lucky with the service, which was very pleasant.

Pasta with truffles is the outrageous example.

My wallet didn't like the visit...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wpatrickdewilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    35
    25
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“profound disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We visited the place last night and left very disappointed. It took over an hour for our plates to arrive, and when it finally did we witnessed amateur composition of pasta full of oil and few crumbs of truffle. For this piece of generosity and creativity the restaurant asks 40 euros. The main dish also 'impressed' us with the size of the portion - a steak of 2cm in length was priced to 60 euro. And that's without side dish or anything!
To sum up - this is one of the worst places I have eaten in.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank IrinAfanassenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just good food but overpriced and service not so good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is good food but not exceptionnal, and really not worth the price. Besides the service is really slow and not paying attention.
For this price, I would not recommend that restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Overpriced !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I went to Da Mimmo for a business lunch with a customer I had invited. We ordered a main course and some glasses of housewine. The waiter was very surprised... when we received the main course we understood why: 4 small pieces of tuna, 2 brussels sprouts and a few pieces of carrot. Price € 25 per person.
We decided to order another plate and were suggested the pasta with truffle. Again a very small amount of pasta that was not even cooked properly. What saved it was the fresh truffles on top. Price € 40 per person. With 4 glasses of wine and 2 coffees I was presented a bill of € 215. It turned out to be wrong so eventually I ended up with a € 185 bill for a quick business lunch.

Should you go there, take the business lunch which is value for money. A la carte is a ripp-off: extremely small portions and no value for money.
I definetely will not return, there are better alternatives.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ErkaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“No service whatsoever”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

No one to greet us or show is to our table. Had to ask for our coats to be taken. Had to ask for the menu, drinks and bread. Had to wait over an hour for our food even though restaurant was almost empty and we only ordered one dish each. White wine was served Ice cold. The menu rather confusing and everything was 25€ be it soup or lobster. Lobster was served with pasta, very unItalian. Steak was tasteless & poor quality. No vegetables on menu & very few served with food. Would not go there again to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank andy52Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Mimmo also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Da Mimmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing