We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Italian good well priced food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Brace

La Brace
Ranked #324 of 3,490 Restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian good well priced food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is an authentic Italian Restaurant, popular with locals and the businessmen in the surrounding area. Situated in the consular district of Brussels the menu is well priced and the pizzas are of a good quality will ample toppings. 12-14 Euros for most Pizzas on the menu with a wide range of other dishes available as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    117
    65
    32
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Terrible wait staff not worth the good-enough food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Reasonably good Italian food ruined by practically the worst wait staff north of the Italian border. Rude, indifferent, could not care less.

We ordered a pizza, a pasta, and a salad (and a decent bottle of wine). The pizza arrived ten minutes before the pasta. Nobody cared. The pizza was good, and the spaghetti al'amatriciana (once it finally arrived) was superb. However, we had to hunt various waiters down to ask for bread and for a pepper mill. Parmesan cheese (which would have been welcome on the pasta) was never offered, and we were tired of begging for condiments by that time.

There are several Italian/pizza places on the same street. We couldn't help but note that every other restaurant was practically empty while La Brace was wall-to-wall full of (mostly EC) clientele. Is the food worth the abuse from the staff? Well, it would not be in Italy, NYC, London, or San Francisco. However, in Brussels, it might be worth it. Just make sure not to tip them. They don't care anyway.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooneydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Pizza ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

A lot of the reviews are not very complimentary about the staff. I used to frequent there many years ago when I came to Brussels first and found them fine. I don't live in the area any more so it is more of an effort to go to Schuman for pizza but it is well worth the trip. Great Pizza - same guy been making them for over 20 years. Never had a bad pizza there.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maura-Irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Well established”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I like the food and the pizzas are great. The staff are hit and miss and sometimes it is clear that they do not care about the customer at all. They have a captive clientele from the EU institutions nearby and they don't have to make the effort. I will go again but not for the ambiance - just the pizza. The Italian staff should take a trip back to Italia and see how family run restaurants make their customers feel special, and bring the lessons back to Brussels.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raycomerford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Outstanding and authentic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Had a "family reunion" dinner of sorts here in April. Since we were distracted by family conversation, we weren't paying too much attention to the service or attitudes of the wait staff. All I can tell you is the pizza was phenomenal, right down to the last bite of crust. And in the end, that's what we were there for.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cokead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Brace also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to La Brace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing