We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza”
Review of Mano a Mano

Mano a Mano
Ranked #581 of 3,557 Restaurants in Brussels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

In a very nice area (St. boniface) full of restaurants and bars, where the international community lives, dines and goes out, this italian restaurant is always packed. Lunch, dinner...
One of the reasons is that it is perfectly located between place de Londres and Chaussee d'Ixelles and the other reason is that the food is good and the service is quick. Yet, don't expect big smiles or a waiter cracking jokes: they are busy and simply get down to business.
The pizza is very good. No doubt about that. As an Italian, if you are looking for pizza I personally prefer la Brace or even Momo but the pizza of Mano a Mano is good. No complaints.
the other dishes are also reasonably good. It's all quite basic (pizza and pasta) with Brussels prices (noticing that somebody charges 14Euros for a pasta which probably cost 2euros still amazes me). But that usual around here so no surprises.
They have a very nice terrasse which is nice and relatively comfortable. Inside, for my taste they have too many tables. They are so squeezed in that you are actually dining with your neighbouting tables. So if you want some one-to-one time without anybody listening... this one might one be the best place to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fiala819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    128
    52
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Average food, adequate service”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Ate here alone on a Sunday evening - popular place, tables available on terrasse (not reserved) but i was only offered an indoor table. I assume the logic of' single person = lower spend' applied.
Chose rigatoni quattro formaggi instead of the more popular option of pizza and it was tasty. House white was also a good choice.
Service was basic if slightly disinterested but I notice that's quite common in the trendier areas of Brussels.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SnowInBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Food OK, but dreadfull service”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The food was ok, but the yound ladies that served were quite unpolite and most of all tried to cheat on a bill, so be careful. They charged us two more beers and a bottle of water (4.90 euros). Nice try, but did not work. Never go there again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theikolozami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food, but left with sour taste”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I ate at Mano a Mano on Thursday evening. Brussels was busy and most restaurants were close to full, but Mano a Mano had plenty of tables inside.

Our waitress was spectacularly disinterested, even by Brussels standards. Apart from reaching us menus, she did nothing to identify herself as a member of staff, and failed to draw our attention to the specials which we only saw after ordering.

That said, the food was good when it arrived, and reasonably priced. That's more than I can say about the water. A staff member here once told me "You can't order tap water in Brussels" - not true in all restaurants but accurate for Mano a Mano. However, €4.50 for a half litre of still water is scandalous and in a city where there are lots of excellent choices at most price points, enough to lose my business for future visits.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carr6775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great pizza, arrogant service”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Always good quality pizza, good house wine. Very unpleasant staff. If you want to change an ingredient to another ingredient you have to pay extra, something I believe is ridiculous. I asked for parmezan cheese instead of mozarella and was charged for this....?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark-B-NL86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mano a Mano also viewed

 

Been to Mano a Mano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing