We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Classy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Millesime

Millesime
Ranked #1,758 of 3,219 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $46 - $59
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
120 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Classy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile


Once you've figured out parking (on Blvd General Jacques), you can make your way to the restaurant. I immediately like the fact that first thing you see as you enter is the kitchen to your right. It is always nice to get a glimpse of the chefs at work.

Inside is a lovely restaurant that extends over three floors. The layout is such that decent space is given between tables which is perfect to have a conversation without having to share with half the restaurant.

Now for the food. I've been twice and always thoroughly enjoyed my starter and main, but seem to have never been lucky with dessert.
This time round I had the risotto followed by the Irish beef with morilles mushrooms. My partner and friends mostly opted for fish, so I got to taste that too. All of it was great, though nothing that would warrant any greater superlatives. The produce is fresh, the cooking is good and the presentation is tidy.

As for dessert, I opted for the creme catalane but it simply didn't hit the spot. I remember having the same impression last I went (a fondant au chocolat that time round).

Overall a pleasant experience. Good for a night out with friends and above average food. Service is decent too.
A downside is a menu that doesn't change much (at all? I seemed to find the dishes incredibly similar to what i remembered having two years back).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gregory_Cornwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    42
    15
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good, yet a couple of steps away from Excellent...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here in early May as a couple, having seen the place in the RestoPass booklet.
The staff is really welcoming and service throughout the evening was very nice and attentive (although the wine was served out during and in between the courses at a rather fast pace).

The food (starter, mains and desert) is very good, but the starter "tartare royale" didn't live up to its expectations: despite its name the size is disappointing and it could do with some more seasoning (but that's personal). The combination of St. Jacques, salmon and foie gras is good though!

Overall we enjoyed the evening but the price is a bit steep to merit an "Excellent" review.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank timg1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Maybe I'm very critical, but I do not understand how this restaurant gets good reviews”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I had dinner yesterday evening in Millesime, it was the first time but also the last time.....

The website mentions a parking at 100 m of the restaurant.... They only forget to mention at what side it is located.

The restaurant itself is very nice, nice atmosphere, funny Kamasutra pictures in the bathroom. First impression was good.

The aperitif of the house is a prosecco with peaches or violet liquor. I took the violet version but the violet flavour was just too overpowering.

As an appetizer, I had scallops with chicory. The plate was very nice presented, the chicory was nicely flavoured, and the rest of plate however could have used some seasoning. Everything was a bit tasteless; some sea salt on the scallops would have been great....

Main course: risotto with mushrooms and tartufata.... Where to begin... You cannot really say it was a risotto; it was more some rice in broth with 2 slices of Parmigianino.... It was very watery, tasteless, and not creamy at all..... No truffle taste at all.... It is a shame that a restaurant in this price class serve this kind of food. My friend ordered a filet pure saignant.... It was however medium to well done....

Dessert: moelleux..... The first version was more like a chocolate cake and completely overdone.... The second version was ok

Price tag of this evening: 80€/pp, including an aperitif and half a bottle of wine pp....

Price/quality: completely overrated....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great modern restaurant in brussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My GF and I went yesterday for dinner. Nice atmosphere and beautiful restaurant. Service was very attentive and kind. Food was excellent, especially the broth of the meat ravioli, the daurade with vegetables and tomato water and the pinapple-mint dessert. Final check was 116 euros including 2 kirr royale, a bottle of italian wine and coffees. Will go back anytime!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank myscreen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“worth a try, at least...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

For the second time we were there and even if the price is not cheap, but not too much expensive as well, we ate very well!
I took duck with chocolade sauce, it was perfect! very very good. the dessert was speculoos ice cream but the baileys almosr killed the taste of the speculoos, but was still very appreciated!
I would definitely recommend to friend, count 50 euro per person with first plate.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fastbobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Millesime also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Ixelles, Brussels
 

Been to Millesime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing