We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La case creole

La case creole
Ranked #397 of 3,490 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $37
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tervuren, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Having tried many items on the menu at the Case Creole, I have never been disappointed! The food is delicious and makes a change from Belgian cuisine. My favourite would have to be the tartare de poisson for starters and the bavette creole for mains, but also the perche du nil and the cari de poisson are to die for. If you have any questions about the exotic menu, make sure to ask for explanations. They are happy to guide your tastebuds. I always enjoy the food, the atmosphere and the quality/price ratio. Telma, the lady of the house, is charming and welcoming, as is the girl who works there on the week-ends. The choice of rum cocktails is vast and the house wines are delicious. Make sure to make reservations as of Thursday because it's a popular place!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    35
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unique and Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

La Case Creole offers some unusual and very good food.

The menu is intimidating and offers no explanations, making it difficult to discern even for French speakers. Have no fear, there are several items which I can recommend. The Bavette Creole is a flank steak sliced and cooked in a mysterious, indescribable, yet flavorsome and tasty sauce. It was quite memorable, and makes me want to return.

There are several “caris” on the menu, which is basically a Reunionese stew. The lamb curry was also good. I wanted to try the Chicken Moambe, but the waitress warned me that it was very strong tasting and may not be suitable for my non-African palate. Go for it if you are adventurous, I’ll definitely try it next time.

The appetizer platter includes several samosas and other snacks. Several excellent rum drinks are offered, and the banana dessert was very good.

The only downside was the service which was borderline incompetent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Witness2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“On the expensive side”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I had a dinner there with a group of friends. Judging food is a matter of individual taste and preference: I found the food boring and not particularly tasty but some people in our group loved the food.

The prices (especially starters) are quite high, even for Brussels (which is typically rather expensive). The quality and quantity of the food did not justify, in my view, the high prices.

Ambiance was OK. There is a small patio with four tables which might be quite enjoyable if the weather is right.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PrincePolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We went for an evening meal and were not at all disappointed. Nicely decorated, excellent food presentation, well cooked. Cocktails (I tried the coco punch) and desserts also delicious, I tried the sweet potato dessert and loved it. Main course was with a huge kind of gamba (called camaron), great. Unusual flavours, even in the sauces, one with lemongrass in the starter ("creole assortiment)" was lovely. Excellent staff, friendly and informative. Place was full to the brim on Saturday night. Not to be missed!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank natalie777uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La case creole also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to La case creole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing