We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to be for those who love true Italian food in an informal style”

La Creche des Artistes
Reserve with
La Creche des Artistes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #475 of 3,557 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $29 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Place to be for those who love true Italian food in an informal style”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I've been going to this restaurant for many years now and I'm still every time again amazed by the experience. Excellent Italian dishes, very personalized service and a truly authentic atmosphere make this place really special. You'll find only a handful of starters and main courses on the blackboard. All of these dishes are traditional, family-style and unsophisticated, and they all taste exactly like you would have them in your favourite small village in Italy. The owner is a young, relaxed guy from Napoli who brings a very personal touch to his restaurant. His wine cellar is excellent and Enzo will guide you through his wine-list with respect for everyone's budget. Last but not least, don't miss the sabayon for desert...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christophe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    52
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Cosy, romantic and bustling”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked last minute for an 8.30pm table and were pleasantly surprised by this thriving neighbourhood italian restaurant.

There are no printed menus - there's one blackboard which isn't easy to see - the waitress reads off the choices.

When we sat down we were given an antipasti (some green beans in a tomato sauce) and a glass of prosecco which we enjoyed. We ordered a sharing platter of antipasti (good bufala mozarella, grilled vegetables, capers and charcuterie) followed by an excellent pasta dishes with fresh ingredients and a boozy Zabaglione served in a copper pan.

The clientele were a real mix which we liked - older couples, groups of young trendy girls and gays, people on dates - everyone seemed to be well catered for and looked after.

A really enjoyable little restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WilliamsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan-les-Pins, France
Level Contributor
169 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not to miss”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've been to this restaurant quite a few times.

food is really good; wile maybe not something you would eat in a specific place somewhere in Italy, it keeps the soul intact. Pasta is great, antipasti are delicious, wine s good. You can pick blindly, anything will be great.

Enzo is a great host, very attentive and on the spot; and the bill at the end will be cheaper than most places in Brussels.

Area is not great, so it's better to get there with a taxi, and restaurant is small, so book in advance, but truly deserves a visit if you're in Brussels.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Favourite italian restaurant”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Warm and romantic atmosphere, people are very serviable and helpful for explaining the dishes. The blackboard changes regularly but always contains something for every taste! We have been there several times and always been agreably surprised.. Very good wine selection and best Sabayon in town!! Needs a reservation!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savigny, Switzerland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Eat like Italians do”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The restaurant is located off the beaten track, but that makes it so special. It is known to insiders and the happy few. You feel like staying with an Italian family and it amazed me how they can make such excellent and varied food in such a tiny kitchen. For some dishes, the cooking pan is simply put on the table. While you are sipping a cool Prosecco, Enzo tells you about every dish on the blackboard menu, proposes variables to everybody's taste, makes perfect wine suggestions. Book a table.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isis1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Creche des Artistes also viewed

 
Ixelles, Brussels
Ixelles, Brussels
 

Been to La Creche des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing