We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner - for meat lovers!”
Review of Viva M'Boma

Viva M'Boma
Reserve with
Viva M'Boma is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #119 of 3,557 Restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner - for meat lovers!”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Viva M'Boma was recommended highly by our fantastic B&B host and as soon as we heard the description we knew this was potentially a place for us - and they did not disappoint. This is not a tourist restaurant but a serious food "destination" restaurant that is welcoming and affordable. It is very much in the style of the St John's restaurants in London with a similar emphasis on nose to tail eating but more choice we felt for the less adventurous in the party as well. If you liked St John's you must go to Viva M'Boma if you are in Brussels.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VB1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    177
    43
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tasty & affordable!”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Walked around the St. Catherine area for awhile trying to find something appealing that wouldn't hurt the pocketbook too much. Stumbled across Viva and couldn't have been happier. Both dishes we had were very good & hearty. The desert was great too! Get the ice cream with carmalized apples!

Service was some of the we've had in Belgium too!

Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nlasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Second night in a row”
Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

It is extremely rare for my wife and I to go to the same restaurant twice during one trip. Primarily it is because we do not want to get disappointed especially if we really liked our meal the first time. Today we made an exception to this rule. Viva M'Boma impressed us yesterday so much that we decided to visit it again for our last dinner in Brussels. We were not disappointed. The food and service were outstanding. Today we wanted to try a few more dishes that intrigued us last night. We had home made headcheese for an appetizer and beef and horse stakes for main courses. Quite a delicious adventure (yesterday we had lamb tongue, sweetbreads and an ox tail dish - all fantastic!).

Highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DimakCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepingen, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The place for quality meat and offal lovers”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is one of the few places you can walk in and eat offal with no second guessing. Everything if fresh here and prepared with Burgundian care. Some cultures shy away from offal as food, while others use it as everyday food, or in delicacies, here you get the latter. More traditional meat dishes are also top quality and the service is impeccable. They have a nice terrace in the back in summer and there's a good buzz going on most of the time. Although not the place for a romantic tête-à-tête with your partner (it is rather busy and noisy), it is definitely one of the smaller but top places to eat in Brussels. Always call in to make a reservation.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CochraneBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fano, Italy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“nice restaurant to eat real belgian dishes”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

the restaurant is located nearby place saint catherine: the interiors are very nice. good service and good food presentation. we had a carbonnades flamande and a vol au vent (served with fries or mashed potatoes): everything was quite good. The only problem is that the restaurant has no beers in menù and the wines are good but expensive. There is no vegetarian dishes in the menù so if you don't like eating meat maybe this isn't the restaurant for you.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diplomats_Son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva M'Boma also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Viva M'Boma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing