We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Excellent modern stained glass

We kept passing this little church, so decided to look in. It is charming. Of particular note are... read more

Reviewed April 10, 2019
MestaChios
,
London, United Kingdom
Little quiet church in a bustling city

Marie Magdalene chapel looks like an old church of a village or a small tow, even though it... read more

Reviewed December 19, 2018
acorna
,
Vilnius, Lithuania
Read all 74 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Brussels
from $16.22
More Info
Brussels Card
70 Reviews
from $31.29
More Info
from $17.38
More Info
from $31.98
More Info
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
22
33
18
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
22
33
18
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mary magdalene old church rue de la beautiful church modern stained glass windows brussels central station worth a quick stop restoration work bell tower twin brother worth checking out bombardment knights foundation regeneration templar rebuilt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 74 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2017

A small Gothic church with baroque gate. This church was once a part of a convent founded in the 13th century. It was handed to the Protestants in 1579. The Chapel was destroyed in the bombardment of 1695, but was rebuilt. It was restored between 1957 and 1958 to its 15th century appearance.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank JanaZC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2017

Our hotel room at the Hilton overlooks the church. Its facade of brick is quite attractive as is its simple, single turret. It is nicely proportioned. The church was moved from higher up on the hill, brick by brick, when the central train station was located on its original site. It is a welcome sight opening the curtains in the morning.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank waterandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2017 via mobile

EGLISE SAINTE MARIE MADELEINE is a wonderful Church that looks so nice.
My twin brother Stephen and I were on our way to Brewdog Brussels and passed this church on the way.
The exterior looks superb and easily dominates the immediate area,the brickwork looks awesome and certainly commands your attention.
The amazing gothic architecture looks superb and this church has some serious history as there has been a church on this site since the 13th century.
We never ventured inside as the church was closed for the day but it was a nice church to view before we we went to Brewdog Brussels.
Very easy to locate on Rue De La Madeleine not far from Central Train Station and only a stones throw from Grand Place ( Grote Markt ).
A beautiful evocative church and well worth seeking out.

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank 293neilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2017

With its very interesting architecture, and a facade made of rude bricks, this building has a charm and elegance of its own! First one must navigate around it, and after that, enter... It is at that point that you will be even more fascinated by the monument itself :)

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank André P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016

I could not look inside.
It is very near lots of other great stops, so definitatelly worth visiting.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank andersonl660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews