We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service”

Restaurant de l’Ogenblik
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 7/23
8:00 PM
Ranked #345 of 4,326 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $0 - $142
Cuisines: French, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed April 25, 2019 via mobile

You could hardly call it service. The waiters treated us with disdain. They were rude and insulting when we asked about our starters which hadn’t been served an hour after ordering them. They obviously make no effort whatsoever to be pleasant to customers but because of the location they will probably not have to worry about a steady stream of business. It’s a shame that the waiters choose to put their energy into mistreating customers instead of simply trying to be polite.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Armando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 724 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2019 via mobile

Strolling through Brussels to find a place to eat, we ran into this lovely place by chance (road ahead was closed, had to take a left into the Prinsengalerij). Lovely surroundings, authetic atmosphere. Service friendly, great food and wine.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Ernst-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2019

Smallish, brasserie-style restaurant that, in its decor, is authentic and representative of old-word Brussels. The problem is these places get tourist-glutted and it impacts their offering and service. So, for us, this was a terrible experience. First, it started with an awful welcome, staff standing around ignoring us as we tried to tell them we had a booking. Second, our 'waiter' (I use term loosely as he hardly waited on us at all) gesticulated almost-angrily at us from across the room to exit by this door; which seemed to just lead to the kitchen (after a while we discovered it has a hidden small staircase to a lots a smelly toilets and an upstairs room). Third, we went up to this room, which has about 7 tables but was small and largely empty and sat down (after not being shown to our table). Fourth, the 'waiter' appears and rudely says we can't sit there and points us to a cubby-hole in the corner (with two chairs). We ask 'can we go downstairs?' and standing in the middle of an empty room he shouts "the restaurant is completely booked". Fifth, the subsequent service is consistent with the intro, but rounded off with the dinner-in-installments. When my steak comes, the frites do not; and I am more or less finished my dinner when they do arrive. Sixth, a large groupof locals arrive and proceed to shout at each other across the table; to a point where we can not hear each other. Totally, awful. We left thinking it would have been better to have a burger on room service in our room.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mukdennnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2019

Typical brasserie restaurant. More than 50 years old. Good ambiance and delicious typical meals. We went twice there during our business week in Brussels. Once the service was a bit long, but we were more than 15 at the same table. Waiters have a good typical belgian sense of humour.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank benoit2soulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2019

what has happened? new management or ?? still nicer restaurant, same setting, same menu but the attentive, humanistic edge is gone of the service and the food seems to be executed less precise, a bit more commercial ... too bad, was my favourite winter place

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Food
Thank streetMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant de l’Ogenblik also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Restaurant de l’Ogenblik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing