We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brussels institution”

Les Brasseries Georges
Ranked #726 of 4,099 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $28 - $283
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Les Brasseries Georges : over 30 years of traditional French cuisine in Uccle. 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Monday to Thursday from 12:00am to 11:00pm, Friday and Saturday from 12:00am to 12:00pm. Car service.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Facing the lovely Bois de la Cambre it is at its best when one can eat al fresco. Has a long history in oysters,lobster,prawns etc.Not the most romantic place-very big for that-but still a good food plus good view proposition.

Date of visit: April 2013
Thank Angelo1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 776 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

The seafood platters are great, the typically Belgian dishes are large and delicious. Try the 'aile de raie au beurre noir' or the veal kidney. You will want to come back for more.

Date of visit: October 2012
Thank Elisabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Wine is very good, see fruits are fresh and service is excellent. Do you need to know more? Bring your Credit Card :-)

Thank Funkydrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

A typical belgian brasserie with good quality/price. As typical as it can be: always filled up like an egg with customers, you cannot really enjoy any privacy. You go there to enjoy the noisy "retro" atmosphere, all "belle époque", mirrors, brass and old wood, and, of course, the food.
Exceptional sea food selection. I got sometimes deluded by some of the starters, too "commercial" (the squid salad is "average") but the "ecailler" is fantastic, probably the best in Brussels (exceptional for take away as well). Platters can be astounding, they put it on your table and you cannot see anymore who seats in front of you. Very Good "France-drift" selection of wines, albeit somewhat limited if compared with the variety of choices (food-wise), in the menu.
High quality is matched by high quantity: you always get satisfied from what you get in your order. Good value for money. The service is fast and very effective. Gentle and "elegant" as elegant it can be with waiters literally flying in the restaurant to follow the "n" customers without delays. No problem if you don't speak french or flemish: the waiters can only match you in a very good English.
I have always enjoyed my dinners (and lunches) at the BG. From my personal experience I would say that seafood is slightly better than meat.

Date of visit: January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alfces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I spent an evening here with work colleagues and the following week with my wife for her birthday. The restaurant is typically Belgian at a high level. The food is excellent with large portions with matching large price tags, but the quality makes this more than acceptable.
The personality really comes from the clientele, staff and the setup. The services here is very good but in that typical Belgian style where it can be perfect and then way of in one sitting. For my work dinner, we had less than 2 minutes between courses as the waiting staff fly around with plates all over the restaurant. The second time we had to wait 45 minutes for dessert. But if you eat at a Belgian restaurant I find that this can be normal service.
The menu is quiet large and if your pockets are deep you can go for a large seafood platter which look amazing with different varieties of fresh shellfish, caviar and a whole load more. The visitors to this restaurant are mainly wealthy Belgian families/couples. People watching was fun as they dug into their massive platters on ice.
I would definitely go back here but a night out for two, expect to pay over €100 for 2/3 courses and a bottle of wine.

Date of visit: December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gefd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Brasseries Georges also viewed

 

Been to Les Brasseries Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing