We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food at its best with a price tag”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Grill

Sea Grill
Reserve with
Sea Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 3,519 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Belgian, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food at its best with a price tag”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The food at the Sea Grill, located in the Radisson Blu, is simply marvelous and surprising. I have had many fine dining experiences in several countries but chef Yves Mattagne convinced me easily to put him in my top 5. It is true this restaurant is far from cheap. Laurent Perrier Millesimé 2002 (x2), adjusted wines (for 1, I was the designated driver) and the 7 course menu ended up in a bill of 500€. The flavour explosions are more and more surprising course after course. Also bear in mind, we're talking the best seafood restaurant in the country here and as you know seafood is expensive. The quantity you get on your plate is according to the price, more than enough. It wouldn't surprise one that Chef Yves Mattagne is also the head consultant for Jet Airway's first class.
The staff is professional, no more no less. There actually might be a bit too much of them running around to my liking.
A couple of other issues though, Brussels city center is not the easiest place to park your vehicle and certainly not for free. A valet service is available however.
For those being claustrophobic this restaurant might not be a good idea, it is a large open space with large tables though there are no windows.
And finally, the restaurant's website is 'under construction'. This has been so for a year now and to me not very professional. I find an updated website with menu's very interesting. You can however get a bit more information if you go via the Radisson website.

In the end, the question remains... Would I return? Without a shadow of a doubt.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    95
    37
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It's Fab”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I loved the Sea Grill. 123 all covered...The food, service and location were top notch. Granted the restaurant is a bit masculine, and the service so good it is a shock to the system for those who have become accustomed to the "Brussels service". I thought the food was delicate, inventive and absolutely delicious. I am still thinking about how divine the bar encrusted in salt was, and how I have the tiniest bit of regret on not pairing it with the Italian olive oil instead of my milder French olive oil. Ohhhh so spoiled. Dessert...gyoza creme brulee. Amazing.... although I did not care for the bitter tastes in the fruit gel that was served with it. The coconut ice cream...hellllllooooo:)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pbycz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent experience but expensive”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Thi is one of the top addreses for sea food. The restaurant is part of the SAS Radisson hotel in the center of Brussels.
Excellent foor and top service.
A very nice experience for a special occasion but actually too expensive.
To be mentioned: many "business" visitors.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“CLASSY FOOD FOR SPECIAL OCCASSIONS”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Sea Grill located in the SAS Radisson Blue but run separately by Yves Mattagne is a true culinary experience in a city noted for its good restaurants. The fell good factor starts in the bar where you sip your glass of champagne while deciding the courses of the set menu plus wine -in my opinion the best option I would believe the bulk of the clients are business men as the tables are set far enough apart for those delicate discussions.However,it is also a place to celebrate special events in family life as once the course decisions have been taken -you are now in for a very special treat. The food is beautifully cooked with a variety of exploding harmonized tastes -while your courses are augmented by amuse bouches which though small thrill the pallet.No of this comes cheap but it is worth every Euro. A total delightful experience from start to finish.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrzej116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ideal for business dinner to impress... fantastic food”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

delicious seafood... i had the Brittany Lobster with sweatbread, followed by the sole... OUTSTANDING. Solid wine list, polished and professional service, elegant atmosphere. The restaurant, the service and the cuisine scream posh, elegance. Great for any special occassion, ideal for a business.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KG1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Grill also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Sea Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing