We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Famous to locals”

La Taverne du Passage
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
La Taverne du Passage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #339 of 3,519 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Taverne du Passage is a belgian-french cuisine brasserie opened sinds 1930 - Typically designed in art-deco style - You will find there all the brussels specialities like mussels, waterzooie and of courses the shrimps croquettes (a must!!) - but also french dishes like choucroute, andouillette, rognon,... - Large choice of wines - Very friendly service, the guys finish most of the time the preparations in front of you - And all this located in the majestuous gallery Saint Hubert in central Brussels - It is open non stop from noon till midnight.
birmingham, mi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Famous to locals”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Taverne du Passage is the kind of place locals remember. The menu includes many items like kidney, liver, sweetbreads which don't appeal to me. Prices are high for the quality and delivery of the food served. Service is fair. The waiter spilled beer on my friend. My purse was taken from under the table by a professional thief. The waiter responded that thefts occur daily! Which might be a fact, but wasn't the sympathy I was looking for. Its fun to eat in the Galerie, but I think you can do better than Taverne du Passage.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pamcracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    393
    183
    90
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A genuine Brussels brasserie”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Taverne du Passage is located in the Galerie de la Reine considered the first commercial galery in Europe built sometimes in the middle of the 19th century.
Going to the Brasserie is already worth the trip in itself.
Taverne du Passage is one of the few remaining restaurants that opened the first half of the 20th century and were so tipical for Brussels. The interior is (obviously) Art Nouveau. The waiters have the traditional white jacket and the sarcastic humor that is so proper for Brussels - ZWANS in the local dialect.
And the food is all what makes the tipical Brussels cuisine - waterzooi, shrimp croquettes, a wonderfull mushroom toast and try the crepe suzette.
Good wine at a reasonable price and beer on tap.
Great place to visit if you want to feel the real Brussels atmosphere. And altough located in the middle of the touristic Grand Place area you will still find many locals - a good sign by itself

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlijn
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not that impressed with this restaurant...”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

It's a bit to big and therefore not that personal. The food is okay, but because of the masses of costumers, the quality is not always that consistent......the service is also not that kind. The interior could get a upgrade.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Choice of Food & Excellent Service”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were on a business trip in March, with a team from the UK and our host from the university HUB, suggested this restrauant for an evening meal. The menu choices was excellent, the service was also very good, with the staff constantly checking that everything was okay. They probably had a nightmare when a party of 15 dinners arrived, but they coped very well this. I enjoyed my steak, cooked perfectly, and all of our team had absolutey no complaints only praise for the food and service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronde, Denmark
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Traditional Belgian”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have been coming to Taverne du Passage for 30 years, but must admit that I was a bit hesitant this time after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. But everything was as usual - traditional, Belgian food, prepared in a good quality, but no frills way, the cozy old-fashioned bistro-like atmosphere, the mixed clientele of locals, business people, families with children, and tourists. I had oysters, veal sweetbread and dame blanche, and it was all as it should be. Yes, the prices are on the high side - you pay for the tradition, location and atmosphere. But I think it is worth is.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverne du Passage also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to La Taverne du Passage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing