We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming restaurant for Brussels standars”

L'idiot du Village Legasc SA
Ranked #359 of 3,579 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant for Brussels standars”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I visited my sister and brother in law who live in Brussels in October. She booked this restaurant as had heard good reviews.

To be honest we did not enjoy food in Brussels in general - the food was similar to French, but not as good and way to rich and very expensive. Also the service was pretty terrible all around.

If you take all of this into account, this restaurant wasn't too bad. Very cute place with a great atmosphere. Some of the food was good too, but it was a bit hit and miss.

My key issue was with the service - the menu is in French and they aren't very good at explaining what it means. It took a very long time to order drinks and the waitress could not explain to us what the English translation was for most of the wines either.

The bill was also quite significant considering what we ate and drank.

Again, for Brussels standards I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess_Di_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    84
    34
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
126 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Loved this place....”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

From the moment you step through the door, you know you are somewhere special. A warm welcome, and immediate service put you at your ease. The menu is a bit funky (handwritten on yellow lined paper and then laminated...) but everything we ate was delicious. Especially impressed that the waiter had remembered that I had mentioned being lactose intolerant when we booked, and they went out of their way to ensure that I ate what I wanted. Loved the interior, tall ceiling, brick walls, paintings. You eat off old fashioned Spode china which is different..... Only small criticisms..... it isn't cheap at all (Eur 230 for three for two courses and house wine) and the service is, if anything, a bit TOO quick! Sometimes it is nice to take your time and eat in a more leisurely way. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marionjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Special evening”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

L'idiot is a charming place, tucked away in a side street in Marolles, not far from Chapelle. Only open on Friday evenings over the weekend and with a relatively small number of tables, booking is essential.

Friendly, relaxed and efficient service; wholesome and imaginative food with good quality ingredients; cozy restaurant with beautiful homely interior. Slightly pricey, but something really special.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KashaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just as good as i remember”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

excellent - seasonal fresh ingredients - the menu changes with the season so no frozen scallops here, now they have the most delicious asparagus soup - and for a main course I had lobster with artichoke - my partner had the turbot - it was fantastic. The service is friendly and the place makes you feel happy even when the weather is so dreadful

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amourdevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The pleasures of Wonderland”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have always wanted to have dinner at this place, but never managed to find a free table; I have heard the king and the queen had to wait just like everybody else. Finally, I was lucky enough to become one of the happy few.This place is magical. Once inside, you are transported in a kind of Wonderland. The food is quite imaginative (presentation included), the quality is rather high although it could still get even better. But some dishes (sorry, no photos) were really excellent, such as the tartare of salmon, scallops and foie-gras. The lemon confit on the aubergines accompanying the fried brains was also a very nice idea. The value for money is very good. This was a great night out on a spring evening full of nice smells in a very picturesque part of Brussels. The perfect place for a tête-à-tête.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zvoomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'idiot du Village Legasc SA also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to L'idiot du Village Legasc SA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing