We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location and Charming Atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 'T Kelderke

'T Kelderke
Reserve with
'T Kelderke is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #111 of 3,492 Restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Location and Charming Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Located directly on the Grand Place, in a wonderful old cellar with a vaulted ceiling, 'T Kelderke has charm in every way. The food is excellent, and service efficient. If there is a drawback, it is that the dining room is cramped and crowded, but that is an unavoidable result of the medieval design of the building. We do not go here looking for space and air, but fine food in a beautiful historic room is a special combination of merits we cannot resist.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Florencelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    529
    139
    57
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
490 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Classic Belgium on the Grand Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

A classic on the Grand Place...make sure that you go to the downstairs location as there is a sister restaurant upstairs. The food is classic Belgian...Mussel, frites, fish. Excellent choice always full of locals. The space is interesting...old vaulted basement ceiling...tables are tight and close together making it a real experience

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDIFF
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and busy atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We went here after looking for a recommendation on trip advisor. Great food and atmosphere. Busier than Cave du Roy next door but their food was perfect also. Tables here weren't private like Cave du Roy but that wasn't a problem for us and made it more fun. We only just got a table. Def worth a visit over the busier touristy places.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BFORMYNAME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a GREAT place!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

A colleague at the conference I attended recommended 'T Kelderke to me and I am SO glad I listened. Three friends and I went there for an early dinner (which is a good idea if you don't want to wait in the very long line later in the evening). We arrived at 6ish and were seated immediately. The beer and wine flowed quickly and beautifully. Several of us shared different mussels dishes (all AMAZING) and fries. Everything was delicious, but the best part of the evening was the friendliness of all the other patrons. It felt like family all around. The locals helped with suggestions for ordering and then gave site seeing tips. All of the tables interacted with one another and it was a memory made in Belgium that I will cherish.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CubsfanJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Well worth a visit, go early to avoid crowds, suspect can get noisy when busy. Very acceptable food - reasonable prices, fresh mussels, not too sure abt the prawn croquettes, good fish waterzoi, good cabonnade

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank london_traveller_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 'T Kelderke also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to 'T Kelderke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing