We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic, delicious and very unique...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quincaillerie

La Quincaillerie
Ranked #121 of 3,492 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $19 - $70
Cuisines: French, Belgian, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic, delicious and very unique...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Made a reservation online and when we arrived there...wow...what a nice place!
Really romantic and the choice on the menucard, very good and it tasted very well and intense.
Good service and nice staff. This is how restaurants should be!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank th198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    336
    170
    73
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not as good as everyone says”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have been a total of three times in there and I find the food overpriced and not at all as good as the price tag would suggest. There is a good atmosphere, but sitting upstairs on the balcony is a nightmare as space is so narrow that it is difficult to pass someone's table without knocking over their crockery. Service was quite unhelpful. Once we arrived with previous booking and the lady was so not interested and it appeared that they had not noted the reservation and she coldn't even come up with an apology. In the end she put us at a table that was very difficult to reach, as it was for the waiter, so we sometimes had to wait a while until we got service.
By all means go for drink, but food? I can't recommend it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jörg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
192 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Fantastic ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a very popular restaurant which was previously an ironmonger's shop and retains some of the atmosphere. It has three floors, beautiful iron railings, mirrors and stairs. The kitchen is in the ground floor so avoid the upstairs if you are with a large group which makes orders all the time, as the service might be slow. I have seldom seen so varying reviews of a restaurant from very bad to excellent. Our belgian-french friends promised it will be excellent and it was. It was full when we arrived (we had reservation) and remained full all the time. Service was very good and quick so the bad reviews about slow service might have had an effect. We had oysters, seafood, various duck plates and everything was excellent. My duck legs were soft, juicy and very tasty. The only downside is the price: entrées are from 15 euros and main dishes from 20 to 45. So expect to pay 50-60 /person at least for a dinner... But I'd say it is worth it!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jippu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A good moment, worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We went with my father last Saturday lunch. Apparently the restaurant has recently reopened following works in the kitchen. Welcome was good. Good atmosphere not to crowded but not a desert!! We served by two nice waitresses. The main one was dynamic, cute and styled. The restaurant offered menus with very attractive prices. Meals were very fresh: oysters of good quality, fresh "rouget" filets not smelling with good gnocchis and pepers; poultry grand ma style and for a perfect finish, frozen nougat and a divine nuts tart. It was a good moment, we will enjoy it again in the future, promised!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arpouligwenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Service lacking, mediocre food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Visiting with friends in Brussels and was taken to this restaurant which was 'highly recommended'. The service was so slow that we were about to leave when the waiter finally showed up to take our order. He brought the wrong wine the first time, then the second time, he came back to the table and declared that the wine we ordered wasn't chilled enough, so we had to order again. Needless to say it was almost an hour before we could even get wine on the table. The food was not worthy of the price. Two of us ordered the duck leg confit which was so salty it was almost inedible. The other two diners simply lost interest in their meals half way through. Of the thousand + restaurants in Brussels, I would not waste my money here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Woodturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Quincaillerie also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Ixelles, Brussels
 

Been to La Quincaillerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing