We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1”
Review of The Dominican

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dominican
Ranked #18 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We arrived around 9am on the first day and we where given a room straight away even though check in is not till 3. Throughout out our stay the staff where really helpful and they speak good english. From the moment you walk in the door this hotel is stunning and the rooms where top class more like a 5*. The rooms are probably the nice room we have stayed in. On the last day our flight wasn't till late and we asked for a late checkout and we where given one till 3pm. We stayed here over valentines and this hotel made it the best romantic weekend away we had. This is the best hotel for this money you will find anywhere i would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roscoe528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,440 - 1,446 of 2,228 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2009

I have stayed about twenty times in this hotel over the past two or three years. My last two stays in September will me think again of coming back. Room service is getting sloppy, to say the least. No change of bath mat, no breakfast cards, etc. And what´s the point of a Nespresso machine in your room without the coffee to go with it?
I´ve written a complaint to the Carlton head office two weeks ago, but did not receive an answer yet... The Dominican does not have a loyalty programme for frequent guests, and the head office can´t be bothered with loyal guests either, it seems.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NLBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

The Dominican was originally an old monastery converted into a very hip and stylish hotel. If you like modern design, his is the place to be. This hotel is tucked away on a quiet street but still located just a couple blocks away from the Grand Place in Brussels. Restaurants, shops and even the train station were all within short walking distances. It was also around the corner from a convenience store which is always helpful when you want snacks and drinks but don't want to pay the very expensive mini-bar prices. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel and would stay here again when visiting Brussels.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gngaviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Stayed at The Dominican for two night at the beginning of October. The internet (fully prepaid) rate was euro 105 and having in mind what you get for that, it is a real bargain. Design of the hotel including rooms is impressive – modern with a little touch of Asian (?) influences. Room and bathroom are spacious and very comfortable – huge bed, big wardrobe (with safe) and very convenient bathroom with adequate water pressure despite we have room on the 6th, last floor. As others mentioned the breakfast is heavily overpriced – you are supposed to pay more then half of the room price for breakfast for 2 (it is 27 euros per person). Unfortunately Brussels is not a Paris and you will not find Paris-style cafes in the surroundings. The best you can do is to have cup of coffee in your room (HINT: the switch on/off button is hidden in the back of Nespresso machine) and walk towards the Grand Place to find the place which fits you. I will definitely stay at Dominican again when I am in Brussels.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KWEST13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We stayed at The Dominican Hotel for 2 nights and loved every minute. A great hotel -- probably the best we've stayed at in Europe and with the best rate we've ever paid for such a high class hotel. The staff was friendly, spoke great English. The food was good in the Lounge, along with the excellent wait staff. The room was comfortable, especially the bed; the shower had great pressure and hot water; everything was spotlessly clean, and there was plenty of room for our luggage. The location couldn't have been better either -- right by the main square and a few blocks walk from the train station (we arrived on the train from Amsterdam.) I am very picky when it comes to hotels and refuse to stay in anything under 4 stars so believe me when I say this is a great hotel. And if looking for a great place to have drinks, make sure to stop by the Delirium Bar -- maybe the best bar in the world!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megan_ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

I stayed here for business for a week, and it was fantastic. The design of the hotel is great, very modern but with a sense of style as well. The staff is great, and the location can't be beat. Right near the Grand Place. The only thing to be careful of, is the breakfast. Its NOT included, and i wasn't warned, so i was charged 15 Euros/day for it. Other than that, no complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncoutroulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Dominican over the Bank Holiday weekend at the end of August. I booked directly on the Design Hotels website, which had an offer that was not available on any of the third party sites I checked - three nights for the price of two, breakfast included. The hotel is easily reached by the metro, and is close to restaurants and the Grand Place. Though we did not spend any time there, the hotel's restaurant and bar area are, as the hotel chain's name implies, well designed and inviting, and there is a lovely outdoor courtyard as well. There was a crowd of what appeared to be office workers from the area on Friday night that were not present either Saturday or Sunday. The impressive design was present in our room as well. We had a view of an office building that was so close we could almost touch it, but we kept the blinds shut and weren't bothered by it. Breakfast was nice, with a buffet as well as a small menu of items available for order from the kitchen, including belgian waffles. If the breakfast is not included in your package, however, I would advise to skip it as in my opinion no breakfast is worth 25 Euro. The Dominican is an excellent choice for exploring Brussels and nearby Bruges, Antwerp, and Ghent. If you do go to Ghent, be sure not to take the local train, it takes three time as long!

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank nycyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,389 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#6 of 199 in Brussels
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.2 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#13 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#21 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $136 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dominican, first member of Design Hotels™ in Brussels, is a destination for elegance in the centre of Brussels. The Dominican is a deluxe design hotel, poised to become a destination for elegance in the city centre. It's stylish rooms, private courtyard and bustling Grand Lounge combine to ensure indulgent hospitality. In the Grand Lounge, located adjacent to an intimate inner courtyard, our breakfast, lunch and dinner are served. The Lounge Bar is a combination of contemporary cafe and stylish lounge, making this the perfect destination for a relaxing break. A delectable selection of food and drinks are available to enjoy at any moment throughout the day. For a relaxing experience or an energy boost you can visit our health club with gym, sauna, steambath and massage. Stay and experience one of our 150 stylishly designed deluxe rooms, executive rooms or one of The Dominican's 3 exclusive suites. All our rooms are equipped with all modern amenities. WIFI (complimentary), Airconditioning, Telephone (VOIP), Safe, Mini-bar, Flat screen TV, Room service, Ironing facilities. The bathrooms are relax areas with rain shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing