We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dominican
Nearby Hotels
$246
$145
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Amigo(Brussels)
$314
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$158
$132
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$150
$145
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$146
$117
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$128
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Metropole(Brussels)(Great Value!)
$132
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Warwick Brussels(Brussels)
$124
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$229
$170
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Adagio Brussels Grand Place(Brussels)(Great Value!)
$255
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (2,332)
Filter reviews
2,332 results
Traveler rating
1,326
721
169
65
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,326
721
169
65
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grand placenespresso machinerain showerlovely hotelinner courtyardquiet side streetdesign hotelexecutive roomcomfortable bedsperfect locationwalk in showercentral stationfew minutes walkmini barwithin easy walking distancelong weekendthe main square
Filter
Updating list...
1,531 - 1,536 of 2,332 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We had such a great time in Brussels, and part of this was down to staying at the Dominican. The location is brilliant - just minutes from the Grand Place, the metro and the stunning restaurants around Rue Antoine Dansaert. The staff were fantastic - friendly, efficient and helpful. Agreed, these are all things you should expect from a four-star hotel, but nonetheless, we felt the staff at the Dominican really made the extra effort to make their guests feel at home. Our room wasn't huge, but we had everything we needed... as other reviews have mentioned, the bed was probably the best we've ever had in a hotel... it was quite hard to leave every morning! Granted, the shower isn't the most user-friendly in the world, but it was more of a quirk than an annoyance. We made use of the sauna, steam room and gym upstairs, all of which were pretty much empty so we had them to ourselves. The courtyard and bar are beautiful, serving a good range of beers, wines and cocktails - a great place for a nightcap after a night out in the brilliant bars and restaurants on offer around the city. We couldn't quite stretch to the 27 euros the hotel charges for breakfast (although it looked amazing!), but there are plenty of places locally to eat more cheaply. Overall we loved this hotel and will definitely be checking in when we return to Brussels.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Butterflyby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We recently spent two nights at the Hotel Dominican in Brussels to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Before we chose it we read countless glowing reviews about the place and I felt confident that we had picked a winner. I had read somewhere that the rooms were built around a central courtyard in what had once been a monestary. This courtyard was nowhere to be seen from the room we were assigned. Our window overlooked the building next door and not much natural light made it into the room which made it gloomy even thought it was beautiful and sunny outside. I phoned reception and asked if they could give us another room with a better view and was told that all of courtyard rooms were full and there was nothing they could do.
The bathroom was a very modern with a black bowl sink. which looked great until you used it, and the walk in shower with the superb rain-type showerhead leaked all over the floor. The loo roll holder was broken and I hope the loo paper was of the recycled type because there is no excuse for a "luxury hotel" to have such a scratchy brand.
The bed had a memory foam topper that must have got amnesia somewhere in the middle of the night because what started off as smooth and cushiony ended up lumpy and uncomfortable. The coffee machine was handy and the minibar was well stocked but overly expensive. The breakfast which was included in the rate was top notch.
I would descibe the room as a normal chain hotel type with designer touches. It didn't feel at all luxurious to me. In fact we had recently stayed at the Sheraton airport hotel in Charlotte NC which was an altogether classier act and cost about a third of what we paid for our room at the Dominican.
That said, Brussels is a terrific city and one we'll return to again and again. We just won't be staying at The Dominican.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank raytanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Arrived on Friday evening to a very pretty boutique hotel, which is only 5 minutes walk from nearest metro. Lovely rooms, most comfortable beds ever, fluffy pillows and even stylish comfy slippers to take home. Opened the windows and could hear the opera singers rehearsing from opposite side. The staff are helpful and very nice. Everything is clean and they serve most delicious choc lollies with your drinks! Exiting the hotel and turning left you are right in front of the Galleries Lafyette and we walked through here all the time to get to the Grand Place and other sights. This hotel really is central to everything - plus Brussels is quite compact. I would, however, be weary about returning to hotel very late - especially if you are female as we were followed by a man whom crossed over and started walking behind us but luckily as soon as we turned the corner we entered our hotel and he walked off. The hotel might be central to sights but on the downside if you exit right and head to high street it gets a bit more dirty and seedy looking, even though Brussels grand Metropolitan Hotel is on that road - doesnt look that Grand to me. All in all, I would definetly stay here again and loved Brussels.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank christobaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights with friends during the jazz festival. The hotel is modern and very beautifully decorated. The rooms are a decent size well furnished with lovely bathrooms and an excellent shower . The hotel was a quiet oasis in a very busy city yet close to all the sights and jazz events. The staff were perfectly friendly and helpful although we were out most of the day and evening. We breakfasted out as we thought 27Euros quite steep for breakfast especially as we wanted to experience lunch out in different restaurants. We got a good deal on the rooms and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We chose this hotel over a number of others after a lot of research and were not disappointed at all. As soon as we arrived the furnishings and feel of the place suggested quality and style and the whole ambience was one of relaxation and comfort. Staff were helpful, courteous and friendly at all times and there always seemed to be someone about to ask. The rooms themselves whilst not massive were very comfortable and tastefully decorated, adding to the whole stay; the walk in shower was great. Overall whilst comparatively more expensive, this a great hotel for a romantic/relaxing weekend break within easy walking distance of Grand Place. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GordoEclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews