We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool”
Review of The Dominican

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Dominican
Ranked #18 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very cool”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The Hotel is just perfect, right in the center of Brussels, in a peadonal area 5 min walking from the Grand Place. Very cool internal decor, it is an old convent and the bar and internal patio are very nice and modern. The rooms just as nicely decored, bed is super-comfortable.
You can be wrong if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marconap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Marco,
Thanks a lot for your enjoyable comments!
Good to know that The Dominican has contributed to your happiness...
Wishing you very well,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,251
    679
    159
    62
    40
See reviews for
179
1,118
104
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Dominican. The location is perfect - very close to the square, wonderful pubs, and two train stations but just far enough where it is quiet and comfortable.

The price was very competitive.

The staff was super helpful. In fact, either travel agent, the hotel or I screwed up and I ended up with 2 rooms for one person for a night. The hotel manager was kind enough to correct the situation and not take advantage of the issue.

Highly recommend. I'll be back again in a month or so.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lance J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Lance,
Thanks for your honesty and explanations.
Good to learn about your happiness and satisfaction!
Share & let the world know...
Warmest regards,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed here for our one night in Brussels. It was an easy walk from Central Station with a small piece of luggage (& rain). It was a fast walk to see the city. The hotel was beautiful. Expensive, but beautiful! And the bed was comfortable!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Katrina,
Big thanks for your kind review!
Please, let Texas know all about Brussels and The Dominican...
Summerly greetings,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We got an amazing rate on lastminute.com, and we were very surprised to how well the hotel was run.
Service was great - reception was just a phone call away and they helped me out with any questions or queries.
They allowed us to have an early check out which was brilliant as we had started traveling very early in the morning and was desperate to just have a rest.
The hotel room was immaculate, however our room was just down the corridor so try get your room changed if they give you Room 121. I felt like there was less privacy as I could hear people outside, meaning that they could probably hear us too. Having said that, the hotel was quiet at most times so we had a good relaxing stay.
Do remember to hang the 'Do Not Disturb' sign on the door (I frequently forget), otherwise housekeeping will knock at your door very early in the morning.
The rooms are quite dim and don't expect a view, but decor and everything else is great. Very modern.
Didn't have the breakfast as it was quite expensive (27 euros per person). I highly recommend Arcadi which is just a few minutes walk away.
Everything is very nearby - metro, Grand Palace (5-8 minutes walk), Galeries Royal St Hubert is just 2 minutes walk away... extremely convenient for non-drivers like us.
We had an amazing stay at The Dominican and would like to thank their staff for their pleasant service.
We walked from Brussels-Midi to the hotel when we arrived (it was about a 30-minute walk but with just one suitcase it was fine for us). However when we left it was raining so we took the tram - very easy and just a few stops away.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethney Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for such positive report!
I really appreciate your detailed story, and I am convinced that it will help other travelers to make the best choices...
Summerly regards,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

An exceptional hotel in all respects, with welcoming, informed and helpful front-desk staff; impeccable room-service; beautifully appointed rooms, restaurant and entrance foyer; classically understated décor, elegant architecture; and a perfect downtown location.

Do make sure to leave time for the extensive, delicious breakfast buffet, as well as a night-cap in the bar.

Great ambience, very highly recommended - just exemplary.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Ben,
It is with greatest delight that I've gone through your words!
Thank you soooo much for making my day...
Please, spread the message all over Canada.
I hope to welcome you again soon,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I picked this hotel because of the excellent advise from reception even prior to booking! The hotel is right in the centre of action and easy to access from both Brussels city and Charleroi airport. The hotel is beautiful, well designed and good quality rooms and public areas. Every member of staff was helpful and went out of their way, charging my mobile phone, finding times for shuttle bus etc. I liked the way the hotel was very under assuming from the front but had a beautiful interior and courtyard. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyshireLottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dearest guest,
Your message smells better than any flower!
A million thanks for such flattering words.
Your happiness is my satisfaction,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 670 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This may be my shortest review ever: not a single thing they could do better. Location, room, breakfast, public areas, cleaniness - perfection! All this comes for a price, of course, but here I was happy to pay it. My favourite Brussels hotel from now on!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Well, dear Jan, let me be short as well:
THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!!!!!!
Kindest regards,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,335 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#17 of 199 in Brussels
4,666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#7 of 199 in Brussels
351 reviews
1.4 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Property: The Dominican
Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#13 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#21 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dominican, first member of Design Hotels™ in Brussels, is a destination for elegance in the centre of Brussels. The Dominican is a deluxe design hotel, poised to become a destination for elegance in the city centre. It's stylish rooms, private courtyard and bustling Grand Lounge combine to ensure indulgent hospitality. In the Grand Lounge, located adjacent to an intimate inner courtyard, our breakfast, lunch and dinner are served. The Lounge Bar is a combination of contemporary cafe and stylish lounge, making this the perfect destination for a relaxing break. A delectable selection of food and drinks are available to enjoy at any moment throughout the day. For a relaxing experience or an energy boost you can visit our health club with gym, sauna, steambath and massage. Stay and experience one of our 150 stylishly designed deluxe rooms, executive rooms or one of The Dominican's 3 exclusive suites. All our rooms are equipped with all modern amenities. WIFI (complimentary), Airconditioning, Telephone (VOIP), Safe, Mini-bar, Flat screen TV, Room service, Ironing facilities. The bathrooms are relax areas with rain shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing