We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Awesome boutique hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dominican

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dominican
Ranked #9 of 197 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome boutique hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location close on rough to the grand plazza. Rooms are quite spacious, bed mattress and pillows great! No noise at all so perfect for a good rest. Breakfast is very typical and the bar great! I had an issue with a taxi driver due to my credit card and they helped me immediately and without any hesitation. Absolutely coming back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Ruben,
Many thanks for your kindest review.
Never hesitate to come back one fine day soon...
Sunshiny regards,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    598
    143
    52
    33
See reviews for
152
982
96
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Im sure the oinly reason why this is not a 5 star hotel is lack of pool and spa.
It is 5 star in every other respect.
Great location, clean, classy room with a great outdoor courtyard for the nice weather. Great atmosphere on a nightime.
Also need to say the beds are so comfy (I just wanted another night)
Stayed 2 nights and couldn't fault it at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HellsbellsLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear guest,
A million thanks for your 'top class' report!
I also want to thank you sincerely for granting us the 5th star.
Wishing you the greatest summer,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We booked 4 rooms and stayed between 2 and 4 nights (the party joined at different times). Location is great, next to the Opera House and a few minutes walk to the main square. Rooms very comfortable and with one exception, staff were great. The exception was the evening manager who was rude on consecutive nights to me and then my son. I travel all over the world and stay at lots of 4 and 5 star hotels and this man was probably the rudest staff member I have ever come across. If it had not been for him, we would have rated our stay 5 stars.
Breakfast here is very expensive and if you are staying more than one night I recommend taking a short walk to the nearby galleries where there are several places to have a great Belgian breakfast for a fraction of the price.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phantom58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello Phantom,
Many thanks for informing us about your stay at The Dominican.
Your satisfaction makes me happy!
Delicate matters will be discussed internally soon...
Enjoy a sunlit summer,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband & I had a great first visit to Brussels thanks in part to the location of the hotel and the friendly, helpful staff. The proximity of the city center made it a perfect choice, and walking was the best mode of transportation! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cfseif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear,
Your kind words are very much appreciated!
Thank you very much for informing the world about your experiences at The Dominican...
Sunny regards from Brussels,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in a suite and the experience was perfect. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed was very big comfortable and the effect minisuite with a bench and a desk for you does stay totally recommended. The bathroom is very well designed, stylish and useful.
In addition the hotel is in a quiet area 5 minutes walk from the Grand Place and 2 minutes from saint-hubert galleries.
The staff is also very friendly.
Just consider that the price of breakfast (27 euros / person) is probably overkill.

Room Tip: rooms facing the inner courtyard are very quiet and the courtyard is as nice as the street outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertoJHytra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Alberto,
Muchas gracias for your kind words!
Please, spread the message all over Spain...
Enjoy a splendid summer,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My partner and I spend here a lovely 3 nights weekend in July 2014. The hotel is licated really in the city center (10 minutes walking from the central train station and 5 minutes walking from 'Grand Place'). The staff is very welcoming helpful and attentive, always smiling and happy to help.The breakfast was one of the best I've ever had in hotel - a big selection of cold cuts, cheeses, vegetables, fresh fruits, fresh (and big selection) bread and pastries , etc ...(even eggs-Benedict upon request free of charge !!!). The room (basic) was very specious and modern the bed was big and VERY comfortable. I had a very lovely weekend in this hotel, highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idok125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dearest guest,
Thank you very much for such flattering message!
You definitely know how to make someone blush...
I hope to welcome you back very soon,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

As an experienced traveler and hotel manager, I was truly impressed with this hotel. Very professional service from the first contact via e-mail till check out time. Splendid and comfortable room, great ambiance and classy common areas, very well assorted breakfast buffet and great location within walking distance from the Grand Place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear,
Many thanks for your kind words!
I really hope to welcome you back one day soon...
Wishing you very well,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#2 of 197 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 2,039 reviews
1.4 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 17 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 stars 802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#14 of 197 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#11 of 197 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.8 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#10 of 197 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 3,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Property: The Dominican
Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#21 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dominican, first member of Design Hotels™ in Brussels, is a destination for elegance in the centre of Brussels. The Dominican is a deluxe design hotel, poised to become a destination for elegance in the city centre. It's stylish rooms, private courtyard and bustling Grand Lounge combine to ensure indulgent hospitality. In the Grand Lounge, located adjacent to an intimate inner courtyard, our breakfast, lunch and dinner are served. The Lounge Bar is a combination of contemporary cafe and stylish lounge, making this the perfect destination for a relaxing break. A delectable selection of food and drinks are available to enjoy at any moment throughout the day. For a relaxing experience or an energy boost you can visit our health club with gym, sauna, steambath and massage. Stay and experience one of our 150 stylishly designed deluxe rooms, executive rooms or one of The Dominican's 3 exclusive suites. All our rooms are equipped with all modern amenities. WIFI (complimentary), Airconditioning, Telephone (VOIP), Safe, Mini-bar, Flat screen TV, Room service, Ironing facilities. The bathrooms are relax areas with rain shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing