We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful memory of our stay in Bruxelles”
Review of The Dominican

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dominican
Ranked #20 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

What an amazing hotel!! A hotel is always part of the memory of your stay somewhere isn't it !!! Well, Just the entrance of this building is quite something.its in a perfect location, We loved our room, perfect size and tasteful decoration. Well The walk in shower !!!! The walk in shower just on its own is worth booking at this hotel, I couldn't wait to take my shower every morning, who would thought that taking a shower could be such a superb experience. REALLY!!! Impeccable staff, service was great , we just felt they had our well being at heart. We usually change hotels when we come back to a city but in Bruxelles the next time will be Dominican hotel again. We just loved it and can't recommend it enough!!! Thank you for an amazing stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ghislaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dearest Ghislaine,
Your kindest words sound like musical lyrics...
Many thanks for this love song!
I hope you'll find your way back to The Dominican soon,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 856 of 2,269 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

Excellent location (a mere 6 minute easy walk from central Station and 4 minutes walk from tram lines 3 & 4 ) station De Brouckere), in a tiny quiet street and next to some of the nicest restaurant and shopping streets. Rooms are spacious and well equipped (incl is an excellent espresso machine, if it works) , lobby and indoor/outdoor lounge real nice (incl for those interested in a heated outdoor smoking corner), staff most friendly and supportive. Complimentary WIFI is good (for up to 2 devices on same password). Nice gym/sauna. Very good selection of complimentary newspapers in several languages. great breakfast (for extra charge). Rate (140 Euro per night if booked directly) very reasonable considering what you get.

Room Tip: Odd thing to watch for a re a few stairs to climb inside some of the rooms.If you have massive lugga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Ariel,
Thank you very much for the lovely review.
I am so happy to learn about your satisfaction!
Please, spread the word all over Israel...
Kindest regards,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I am from Canada. I spend about 160 nights a year in 5* hotels around the world for business. The Dominican Hotel has to be one of my favorite hotel even if it is rated 4*, to me it deserve a 5* rating. The rooms are small but beautifully done. The service is impeccable and contrary to some other reviews, my rooms have always been very clean. The location is ideal in Brussels; near all the action.

My only recommendation to give this hotel my 6* rating: please get European toilet amenities. Seriously, you are in Brussels, why not providing Occitane or other local shampoo& soap instead of providing something coming from China ??? Please encourage local businesses. Little details but that make a huge difference.

If I have to come to Brussels, no questions in my mind: I will always stay at the Dominican.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forsteph30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Hello Stephanie,
I really enjoyed running through your gentle words!
How flattering can one be...
A million thanks for your kindness, and for the particular recommendation.
I hope to welcome you soon again,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Hotel super moderno, localização ótima, café da manhã excelente e staff gentil. Os quartos são grandes e modernos, com uma decoração elegante e ainda com café Nespresso de cortesia. A localização, no centro histórico e perto de várias lojas, facilita o visitante a conhecer vários pontos turísticos de Bruxelas. Um hotel que voltaria, com certeza!

------

Super modern hotel, great location, excellent breakfast and nice staff. The rooms are large and modern, with stylish decor and with Nespresso coffee. Located in the historical district and close to various shops, makes easy to the tourist to meet various tour sights of Brussels. A hotel that I would be back for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaKitsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel is really lovely, and the decor is very modern and chic. It is very close to the Grand Palace and main square so you can easily walk to the main part of town.
Staff were pleasant and even though we didn't use the hotel bar it did look lovely. Again we didn't have breakfast at the hotel as it was 27 Euros each which seemed very steep.
The only downside to the room was that they had placed two single beds together as a double which meant you almost fell into the gap during the night. Apart from that I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moss87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear guest,
Many thanks for having taken the time to write things down.
Only by such efforts, people are getting informed correctly about what to do and where to stay...
Warm greetings from sunny Brussels,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Beautifully designed hotel at a great location directly in the centre of Brussels. Nice bar with great cocktails. Small ok small spa area (sauna and steam bath).
However, unfortunately poor service culture: we got sick the night we spent there and my girlfriend was basically unable to leave the bed - unfortunately the hotel receptionist showed absolutely no understanding, we repeatedly had to beg for a late check-out (we had a flight booked for the late evening). The only option to have the roomer longer than 2 p.m. was to negotiate a price for having the room a few hours longer. Given this happened on a Sunday, where the hotel wasn't crowded at all and the probability of renting the same room was very small, this was absolutely unacceptable behavior for a four star hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DomWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear guest,
Many thanks for your kind review!
Sorry to hear about your deception about the impossibility for a late check-out.
Don't let this get in the way of your next booking at The Dominican...
Warm regards,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I was in a suite room that was the size of a perfectly standard room, so why name that a suite? Overuse of plastics instead of wood make ambiance not what I was expecting. Cleaning was, let politely say, not the standard I usually find in such hotels: it was necessary stop breathing normally at the entry of the room to avoid the carpet unpleasant smell. Okay, location is good for tourism.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duzum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear guest,
I want to thank you sincerely for having taken the time to write things down.
Your honesty is well appreciated, and your comments will be taken to the next management meeting.
Warm regards,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,423 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#73 of 199 in Brussels
2,778 reviews
1.4 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,081 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#15 of 199 in Brussels
4,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#14 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $151 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dominican, first member of Design Hotels™ in Brussels, is a destination for elegance in the centre of Brussels. The Dominican is a deluxe design hotel, poised to become a destination for elegance in the city centre. It's stylish rooms, private courtyard and bustling Grand Lounge combine to ensure indulgent hospitality. In the Grand Lounge, located adjacent to an intimate inner courtyard, our breakfast, lunch and dinner are served. The Lounge Bar is a combination of contemporary cafe and stylish lounge, making this the perfect destination for a relaxing break. A delectable selection of food and drinks are available to enjoy at any moment throughout the day. For a relaxing experience or an energy boost you can visit our health club with gym, sauna, steambath and massage. Stay and experience one of our 150 stylishly designed deluxe rooms, executive rooms or one of The Dominican's 3 exclusive suites. All our rooms are equipped with all modern amenities. WIFI (complimentary), Airconditioning, Telephone (VOIP), Safe, Mini-bar, Flat screen TV, Room service, Ironing facilities. The bathrooms are relax areas with rain shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing