We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of The Dominican

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Dominican
Ranked #18 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
bromley,kent
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel is really lovely, and the decor is very modern and chic. It is very close to the Grand Palace and main square so you can easily walk to the main part of town.
Staff were pleasant and even though we didn't use the hotel bar it did look lovely. Again we didn't have breakfast at the hotel as it was 27 Euros each which seemed very steep.
The only downside to the room was that they had placed two single beds together as a double which meant you almost fell into the gap during the night. Apart from that I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moss87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear guest,
Many thanks for having taken the time to write things down.
Only by such efforts, people are getting informed correctly about what to do and where to stay...
Warm greetings from sunny Brussels,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,251
    679
    159
    62
    40
See reviews for
179
1,118
104
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Beautifully designed hotel at a great location directly in the centre of Brussels. Nice bar with great cocktails. Small ok small spa area (sauna and steam bath).
However, unfortunately poor service culture: we got sick the night we spent there and my girlfriend was basically unable to leave the bed - unfortunately the hotel receptionist showed absolutely no understanding, we repeatedly had to beg for a late check-out (we had a flight booked for the late evening). The only option to have the roomer longer than 2 p.m. was to negotiate a price for having the room a few hours longer. Given this happened on a Sunday, where the hotel wasn't crowded at all and the probability of renting the same room was very small, this was absolutely unacceptable behavior for a four star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your kind review!
Sorry to hear about your deception about the impossibility for a late check-out.
Don't let this get in the way of your next booking at The Dominican...
Warm regards,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I was in a suite room that was the size of a perfectly standard room, so why name that a suite? Overuse of plastics instead of wood make ambiance not what I was expecting. Cleaning was, let politely say, not the standard I usually find in such hotels: it was necessary stop breathing normally at the entry of the room to avoid the carpet unpleasant smell. Okay, location is good for tourism.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duzum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear guest,
I want to thank you sincerely for having taken the time to write things down.
Your honesty is well appreciated, and your comments will be taken to the next management meeting.
Warm regards,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Highly recommended. We booked a three night stay. We received the room exactly as described. The hotel staff is courteous, helpful and pleasant. Daily housekeeping kept the room well stocked with Nespresso coffees and wonderful tea choices. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The hotel lounge is a great spot for an after dinner drink. Since the hotel is next to the Opera de la Monnaie, from our room and with the window open, we could hear singers during rehearsals in the afternoon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Mark,
So nice to read about your happiness and satisfaction!
Please, spread the word all over LA...
Yours sincerely,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

spend a night in this beautiful hotel whilst sight seeing in Brussels. very charming and full of brilliant little touches. staff are very helpful and the décor is so fitting. monks chanting in the lifts is different but all adds to the charm.

Room Tip: stayed on 5th floor, had great view of opera house and grand place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Tony,
Many thanks for your charming review!
Delighted to learn about your positive experiences...
Never hesitate to come back,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Five minute walk from the train station and 5 min walk to the Grand Place. Just far enough, away from the crowd, to have a good night sleep. Very beautiful hotel with a very nice and clean room for two. Had enough room to add a roll away bed and still be comfortable. Plenty of space in the bathroom and no problems with hot water. Breakfast buffet was delicious and had plenty of options. The bar was also nice with many beer and wine options. Customer service was excellent and I enjoyed my 3 night stay at The Dominican. If I ever return to Brussels, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freddiemv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Freddie,
Your flattering words made me really happy!
Thanks so much for the wonderful recommendation.
Please, let Texas know about us,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Great location. Easy metro ride from the Midi station. Close to the great square, and many bars and restaurants. Room was well done., the bed was excellent and comfortable. Baa service well done. Thursday night they had a DJ which was a little much, breakfast was great. Many selections, good service. Front desk helpful and cheerful. And yes, the music in the lifts is like you are on you way to an old me devil church service. We would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Steve,
Thanks a million for the great report!
I'm happy we've made you happy...
Can't wait to welcome you back,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,335 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#17 of 199 in Brussels
4,666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#7 of 199 in Brussels
351 reviews
1.4 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Property: The Dominican
Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#13 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#21 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dominican, first member of Design Hotels™ in Brussels, is a destination for elegance in the centre of Brussels. The Dominican is a deluxe design hotel, poised to become a destination for elegance in the city centre. It's stylish rooms, private courtyard and bustling Grand Lounge combine to ensure indulgent hospitality. In the Grand Lounge, located adjacent to an intimate inner courtyard, our breakfast, lunch and dinner are served. The Lounge Bar is a combination of contemporary cafe and stylish lounge, making this the perfect destination for a relaxing break. A delectable selection of food and drinks are available to enjoy at any moment throughout the day. For a relaxing experience or an energy boost you can visit our health club with gym, sauna, steambath and massage. Stay and experience one of our 150 stylishly designed deluxe rooms, executive rooms or one of The Dominican's 3 exclusive suites. All our rooms are equipped with all modern amenities. WIFI (complimentary), Airconditioning, Telephone (VOIP), Safe, Mini-bar, Flat screen TV, Room service, Ironing facilities. The bathrooms are relax areas with rain shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing