We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of The Dominican

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dominican
Ranked #18 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

It's hotel was conveniently located and within walking distance of the Central Station. The staff were all very friendly. Could not fault it although the cost of drinks from the minibar were excessive. 5 Euros for a small bottle of water.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Jolo,
I want to thank you sincerely for the short but meaningful report!
Always useful to know about our guests' experiences...
Wishing you well,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 2,228 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stay at the Dominican whenever I'm in Brussels and they are reliably good. Their front desk staff is efficient and friendly, the rooms are clean and well appointed, and the hotel food is well prepared with high quality ingredients. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars this time is because my bathroom had drainage problems - the shower was over the bath and the shower water wasn't draining and there was a slight smell coming from the drains. Also, the service in the bar area, where I hosted a business drink the night I got in, wasn't great. A bit slow and a bit confused - all sorted out in the end but not up to the usual standard. I'll stay there again because it's much better than some of the alternatives but they do need a tiny bit of refurbishment . . .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Hello tall Suzy from London,
I want to thank you for the sincere review you have posted about your various stays at The Dominican!
Being a regular customer, you are very much in place to feel the goods and the needs...
I really value your recommendations! We'll work on it!
Warm regards,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at The Dominican for 2 nights (31st Oct - 2nd Nov) in one of their Deluxe rooms. We received a warm friendly welcome upon check-in. Reception staff explained the amenities of the hotel very well, orientation from the main sights, restaurants and various establishments around the area. They wanted to please in every way reasonably possible - nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Housekeeping was wonderful as the room was spotlessly clean.
The room was lovely and spacious. We really love the amenities in the room - the addition of a Nespresso coffee machine with teas and coffee pods instead of the traditional coffee making facilities is a nice touch. There were wine glasses and an ice bucket (there is an ice machine readily available on each floor), very generous great smelling toiletries, bathrobes and slippers. Awesome rain shower! And we cannot emphasise how comfortable the bed was - it was like sleeping on a cloud!

The bar area was great too for a few drinks (a shout out to barman Ricky who looked after us with great drinks and a fab chat about the area). The resident DJ was playing when we were there and he played great music (not the thumpy too loud kind but enough for a great vibe, upbeat and enjoyable time) - really good atmosphere.

Finally, the location is fantastic for exploring major sights of Brussels. It's a short walk to the Grand Place, Grand Markt, Mannekin Pis, Le Petite Sablon etc and more importantly Delirium Cafe :)) !

We highly recommend The Dominican for a great, funky and central hotel in Brussels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w0rldwidew0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Woaw, this is one hell of a captivating review!
Thank you soooo much for writing about your wonderful experiences...
You really make my day,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at The Dominican for 3 nights and found the room to be very spacious, modern, clean and well equipped (throughout our 1 month trip around Europe, we stayed in 17 hotels and the Dominican was the only hotel that supplied disposable slippers and bath robes, as well as standard amenities). The staff were extremely nice and helpful, and the hotel is very well located in the centre of town, near all the main sights, but slightly outside of the old town centre, so it was convenient but not over crowded or noisy at night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney-sider_ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear guest,
What a pleasure to read your kind words!
Many thanks for your flattering review.
Nice to know that The Dominican has a new ambassador in Australia.
Please, spread the word, and do not forget to come back one day...
Warm regards,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

we had great lunch and dinner at their restaurant . Breakfast was just out of this world..
Super service ,clean and quiet room . The bed was so comfortable and a very cosy room.
Location was amazing,quiet and perfect for getting in to the old town within minutes with nice restaurants ,bars and cafes around

Room Tip: view into the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOSCHBINA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear guest,
I have really appreciated your kind message.
A million thanks for sharing your experiences with the world!
So nice to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us...
Wishing you well, and hoping to welcome you soon again,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have previously had some good experiences at the Dominican ...and a couple of not so good times but this night was the worst. I beg you CHECK IF YOUR ROOM IS BENEATH THE GYM !!! I did not know this and at 1030pm....not an unreasonable time to try to get to sleep, especially mid week, I was kept awake by the constant thud of someone on the running machine. At first I thought it was the aircon or something on the roof but then I realised there was another floor above me and it must be a function room ..or gym. I called reception and they confirmed it was a gym. Initially I was told the hotel was full and there were no rooms free. Ok this is possible as I arrived late. I asked to speak with the Duty Manager and he came up and immediately changed me to another room. No rooms?! Really?! Please, staff, don't lie to customers. You should be aware you're placing a customer beneath a gym and if you have another room put them there first and use the room beneath the gym as a last resort. I surely can't be the only person who has experienced this.
I give you 1 star for the initial service but I would rate the manager as 5 star - empathetic and solved the solution immediately with no hesitation.
Would I stay again - yes but with the knowledge I have now, I know which rooms not to get - just make sure you pre book a room away from the gym.

Room Tip: Do NOT get a room below THE GYM - I think the gym is on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Bruce,
It is with deep sadness that I have gone through your words...
But I really want to thank you for having taken the time and done the effort to inform us about your understandable disenchantment.
I guarantee you that we will discuss your important message during our next management meeting.
And I really hope to welcome you back one fine day...
Warm regards,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I recently stayed at the Dominican in Brussels and I did enjoy the experience. The room had everything I needed. The bed was comfortable and there was a good in room selection of teas and coffees. The room was extremely clean, without being sterile. The room was well appointed. All in all, a positive experience. If I was to return to Brussels, I would most certainly stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Claireehowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Claire,
So nice to read your sweet words of genuine appreciation!
Very happy to know that you have lived an unforgettable experience at The Dominican.
Please, spread the word all over Perth...
Yours sincerely,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,389 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#6 of 199 in Brussels
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.2 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#13 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#21 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $83 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dominican, first member of Design Hotels™ in Brussels, is a destination for elegance in the centre of Brussels. The Dominican is a deluxe design hotel, poised to become a destination for elegance in the city centre. It's stylish rooms, private courtyard and bustling Grand Lounge combine to ensure indulgent hospitality. In the Grand Lounge, located adjacent to an intimate inner courtyard, our breakfast, lunch and dinner are served. The Lounge Bar is a combination of contemporary cafe and stylish lounge, making this the perfect destination for a relaxing break. A delectable selection of food and drinks are available to enjoy at any moment throughout the day. For a relaxing experience or an energy boost you can visit our health club with gym, sauna, steambath and massage. Stay and experience one of our 150 stylishly designed deluxe rooms, executive rooms or one of The Dominican's 3 exclusive suites. All our rooms are equipped with all modern amenities. WIFI (complimentary), Airconditioning, Telephone (VOIP), Safe, Mini-bar, Flat screen TV, Room service, Ironing facilities. The bathrooms are relax areas with rain shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing