We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good looking hotel, Poor reception staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dominican

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dominican
Ranked #15 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good looking hotel, Poor reception staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The positives with the Domincan Hotel are the gorgeous design, the hotel's boutique feel, the very stylish restaurant & bar, and the good central location. The negatives (which would prevent me from ever returning) are the very rude reception staff.

Like many of the previous reviewers have pointed out, the check-in staff are unnecessarily rude & lack professionalism & training. Upon check in, Ping, the receptionist did not greet us or smile at all and when she thought I wasn't looking made derogatory gestures about us to another staff member. Very strange. However the restaurant and bar staff were lovely, when we dined there.

Disappointing, as I would have returned and also recommended this hotel if it were not for the terrible reception staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle_B_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear guest,
I want to thank you for having informed us about your experiences at The Dominican!
As I regularly say, guest reviews are the best teaching lessons in our industry.
Be sure that all topics will be discussed in our next management meeting.
I sincerely apologize for every inconvenience occured.
Please, feel free to contact me: gdevos@thedominican.carlton.be
Wishing you well,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,202
    665
    155
    58
    38
See reviews for
172
1,081
100
447
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is very chic. The bar area is perfect for meeting friends and lounging. The staff is exceptional and friendly. The rooms tend to be dark but it's all part of the meditative feel. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Robin,
Many thanks for your short but powerful report!
Very, very much appreciated...
Awaiting your return,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The location of the hotel was good; a nine minute walk to the train station and close to the Grand Plaza.The staff was helpful and attentive and though the rooms were on the small size, they were well laid out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chayanovetsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear,
Thanks for your kindest words.
So happy to learn about your happiness!
Please, spread the message...
Best regards,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spent a few nights during our Benelux trip in July. It's a bit far from the train station if you plan to walk with luggage. However, it's our plan to stay away from the train station, as the area around the Brussels Centrale station is quite seedy with suspicious people staring and hovering around at times. The hotel is actually quite conveniently located, as it's close to the elegant shopping galleria. It's just few minutes' walk from the Grand Place with loads of choices of restaurants. Scenery, shopping and gourmet are all close enough by walking. The hotel area makes you feel safe even at night. Staff of front desk are all very helpful. I would seriously consider to stay there again for next trip to Brussels!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Anna,
A million thanks for your flattering message!
I am delighted to know that we now have an ambassador in Hong Kong...
Take care,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Chockingly unpolite, unprofessional, unhelpful and/or arrogant staff. I could spend half an hour listing the problems we persistently encountered : the worst - and more shameful - probably being them chasing and threatening our guests about their extras despite the fact we had prepaid and fully guaranteed their entire stay. We were hosting three known French actors and film director in the hotel's best Suites and hardly 1 out of 5 staff members were able to understand, let alone speak French (this hotel is located in the heart of Brussels!). And the poor language skills probably was the least embarrassing issue. We have painfully experienced why this hotel, despite its pleasant situation, setting and décor, does not - even remotely - meet the standards of any other 5star hotel we usually work with in Brussels. The staff of The Dominican has no clue of what "hospitality" means. Let alone "guest" or "customer".

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank Pattum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear,
Many thanks for your writings.
I am really sorry to read about your disenchantments.
A lot of things probably went in a wrong way somehow due to the lack of communication and lots of misunderstandings: room keys were demanded by journalists before the guest(s) even checked in, light systems and cameras were installed in various areas of the hotel ground floor without request or further notice...
We regularly receive VIP requests for interviews and shootings, and we always try to honour them into details as long as we receive the right information in time.
I am convinced that I am unaware of lots of your frustrations and their sources.
Therefore, I would like to invite you for further communication: gdevos@thedominican.carlton.be
Please, do not hesitate to contact me...
Best regards,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Dominican is a fabulous hotel centrally located in Brussels. It is a few minutes walk from Grand Place and many more of Brussels attractions.
From the minute you enter the hotel the relaxed vibe is apparent. staff are attentive without being overbearing, the rooms are spacious and well equipped. Nespresso machines!
I always stay here when in Brussels.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CaptainFandango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Captain,
A million thanks for your kindest words!
You have left me with some nice feelings for the day, and a smile on my face...
Warm regards,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just back from a weekend break at the Dominican. Overall the hotel is great, the location, the style, the rooms etc. The staff were great and you never felt anything was too much. Food was delicious, we had a snack in the bar and a light supper. Portions were typically European, fairly small, but for those of us with limited appetites they were great. We didn't try breakfast - seemed expensive at €27, being only a short walk to the Grand Place we wandered there and had an excellent breakfast (croissants, pain au chocolat, toast, ham, cheese, preserves, orange juice and tea or coffee) for just under €10 a head. As to the dinner, the main courses seemed reasonable at under €25 but the starters seemed expensive at over €18 for most of them. My only real complaint about the hotel was the cost of water with dinner, €8 for a litre seems somewhat excessive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richier7684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dearest guest,
Your honest evaluation will be valued, and we surely will take all points into consideration.
Thank you for your words...
Yours sincerely,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,237 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#7 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#16 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
1.4 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Property: The Dominican
Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#11 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#21 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dominican, first member of Design Hotels™ in Brussels, is a destination for elegance in the centre of Brussels. The Dominican is a deluxe design hotel, poised to become a destination for elegance in the city centre. It's stylish rooms, private courtyard and bustling Grand Lounge combine to ensure indulgent hospitality. In the Grand Lounge, located adjacent to an intimate inner courtyard, our breakfast, lunch and dinner are served. The Lounge Bar is a combination of contemporary cafe and stylish lounge, making this the perfect destination for a relaxing break. A delectable selection of food and drinks are available to enjoy at any moment throughout the day. For a relaxing experience or an energy boost you can visit our health club with gym, sauna, steambath and massage. Stay and experience one of our 150 stylishly designed deluxe rooms, executive rooms or one of The Dominican's 3 exclusive suites. All our rooms are equipped with all modern amenities. WIFI (complimentary), Airconditioning, Telephone (VOIP), Safe, Mini-bar, Flat screen TV, Room service, Ironing facilities. The bathrooms are relax areas with rain shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing