We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top location, very good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dominican

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dominican
Ranked #14 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
264 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
“Top location, very good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Got a very good rate online (July is apparently low-season in Brussels!) and chose this hotel based on the positive TripAdvisor reviews. Considering the quality and location of the hotel, it was a fantastic value for money and I was very satisfied overall.

Plus points: The Dominican is in a perfect location for tourists as it is just a short walk to the Grand Place, the metro station, and the Central Station - convenient for Brussels sightseeing as well as day trips. Very attractive common areas and a nice impression when you walk into the lobby. Upon arrival, I was upgraded from a standard room to one of the loft rooms, which was a nice surprise. The room was not enormous, but quite comfortable with a work area and two armchairs. Bathroom was spotless and in good condition. There was a very nice full size bathtub and a great rain shower. My room was near the elevator, but never had any noise issues from that.

Room for improvement: Soundproofing on the windows facing rue Leopold would be nice. Although the street itself doesn't have traffic, I was woken up very early every morning by trucks on the adjacent road and I don't consider myself a light sleeper. WiFi service was somewhat erratic, going on and off all the time. It was free, but couldn't use gmail for example. This was also a problem with one of the workstations in the lobby. Website says minibar is free (excl alcohol), however this was not the case when I was there. The policy should be explained clearly at check-in to avoid confusion. Housekeeping was generally good, although it didn't seem like they vacuumed as some crumbs were left on the carpet over a number of days. I think the hotel should also consider some 'eco-friendly' policies - the bathroom soap was replaced every day, even if only used once, no option to keep towels for more than one day, no recycling available. Although it is a higher-end place, that is no reason to ignore common 'green' practices that so many hotels use. These are all somewhat minor complaints, but led to my ranking the Dominican at 4 stars instead of 5.

The very expensive breakfast was not necessary for me, as there are numerous good cafes nearby and also a small grocery store across the street where I could buy everything needed at more reasonable prices.

In conclusion, if you can get a good rate, I say definitely book this hotel! The location is perfect and it has a nice character that you won't find at most chain hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inkwave17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear,
Thank you so much for all your useful recommendations and tips.
Only by such efforts, people get informed correctly, and we are enabled to finetune our services.
I am very grateful for that!
Yours sincerely,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    659
    154
    57
    37
See reviews for
168
1,073
98
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Location, Location, Location plus one very cool hotel with a bit of history...
This is a sleek modern full-service luxury hotel nestled in and respectful to the 15th Century Dominican Abbey it occupies. A great mix of old and new! A short walk to the Central Station for daytrips and, steps from the City Center, Dominican became a great home-base for our stay in Brussels. The staff were incredibly friendly (Especially the staff in the lobby bar) and offered great local suggestions. Rooms were well appointed, including WiFi, and comfortable (Although we didn't spend all that much time in the room).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenF630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Ken,
Please, spread your kind thoughts all over NYC!
A million thanks for your positive report.
Warm regards,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at the Dominican Hotel early June and it didn't disappoint. It was 5 minute walk to city centre and most of the attractions. It also had free Wi-Fi! The hotel was clean, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YYCViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi, Viking!
Short but powerful feedback. I like. I like a lot!
Thanks so much.
Best regards,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and while I liked the hotel, it was a bit far from the city center. If you don't like to use public transportation or cannot walk very far - keep this in mind.

You are - however - very close to some good restaurants. I highly recommend the burger bar nearby - Hemgie's. It was VERY good - bordering on great.

Very close to the train station so this is ALWAYS a plus. You can walk there in 10 minutes - but it is uphill to the train station from the hotel.

Rooms were clean and very modern. I like modern hotels, so this is right up my alley.

Room Tip: The entrance is facing the plaza. Keep walking around until you see it. You need to use your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your nice review and the useful recommendations.
However, I am astonished by the fact that you do not consider The Dominican positioned in the city center.
Our central location is somehow a major selling point, and all guests are so happy with the 'walkability' to the main city attractions. Well, this is what I read very often...
But maybe you were looking for something specific? In that case...
Wishing you well,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Would give this 4.5 stars if I could. We stayed as a family for two nights, having reserved two standard rooms. Walking into the hotel after the challenges of navigating the city by car was a real pleasure. The lobby, bar and main floor spaces were quiet, attractive, and just made us breathe a sigh of relief. The location was extremely convenient for walking to the metro, the Grand Place, and many dining options. We did not use the restaurant but did have drinks in the courtyard area of the bar, which was lovely. Service was excellent. Our rooms were small, as would be expected for a standard room, but designed to maximize the use of that limited space. We did not spend much time in the rooms so it didn't really bother us, and we did not have issues with noise, but we did notice that the rooms were quite dark by day, particularly one that directly faced another nearby building. If you arrive by car, plan ahead -- the street is only accessible via what appears to be a coded entry, which we did not know before our arrival and which caused us quite a bit of stress. Also, if you like to cook, there's a nice kitchen wares store immediately adjacent to the hotel that was fun to browse.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Umfalotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear guest,
Your nice review is really appreciated!
Thank you for having taken the time to write things down...
Please, do not hesitate to return.
Warm regards,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicily, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was my first time here and it was a perfect location. Close to shopping, restaurants and Central station. Grand Place was about 3 minutes away. Everything was comfortable and clean. Think you could get very good prices if you reserve in advance. I did it through booking.com. Hotel does close its front door after a certain time and you have to buzz front desk to be let in. Also you have to use room card for elevator. Great stay and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umanayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear,
Thanks so much for letting us know about your experiences at The Dominican!
Please, spread the word all over Italy...
You know where to find us,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Brussels. The hotel is part of the Design Hotels and offers nicely designed rooms, a small fitness room and a stylish lounge overlooking the courtyard.

The reception staff is very professional and helpful.

Unfortunately the breakfast experience was appalling. When we arrived at breakfast in the beautiful lounge, all tables very occupied except the best tables facing the patio. So we naturally asked if we could sit at one of these tables. A waiter refused pretending that the tables were reserved and asked us to sit in a tiny and dark corner behind a pillar. He was extremely rude and when we asked to speak to the manager he presented himself as the manager, which was not the case. We left and complained to the reception staff. Finally we managed to have one of the tables in the main area. We stayed until the end of the service and nobody came to the supposedly reserved tables. The buffet was poorly maintained, we had to beg for clean cups, they never cleaned our table between courses and felt irritated when we asked them to do so ...Not what you expect in an up market hotel for a breakfast priced 27 euros !

At the end of the service, the rude waiter came to apologize but his explanations where not convincing!

It is disappointing to see a stay in such an unique interior spoilt because breakfast staff cannot ensure basic service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fredandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Fred & Chris,
I want to thank you for writing things down!
Only by such efforts of yours, we are enabled to learn from the past and improve quality of service.
I am sorry to learn about the disappointment at breakfast!
This shouldn't have happened...
Wishing you well,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#7 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#16 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#10 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Property: The Dominican
Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#11 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#21 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dominican, first member of Design Hotels™ in Brussels, is a destination for elegance in the centre of Brussels. The Dominican is a deluxe design hotel, poised to become a destination for elegance in the city centre. It's stylish rooms, private courtyard and bustling Grand Lounge combine to ensure indulgent hospitality. In the Grand Lounge, located adjacent to an intimate inner courtyard, our breakfast, lunch and dinner are served. The Lounge Bar is a combination of contemporary cafe and stylish lounge, making this the perfect destination for a relaxing break. A delectable selection of food and drinks are available to enjoy at any moment throughout the day. For a relaxing experience or an energy boost you can visit our health club with gym, sauna, steambath and massage. Stay and experience one of our 150 stylishly designed deluxe rooms, executive rooms or one of The Dominican's 3 exclusive suites. All our rooms are equipped with all modern amenities. WIFI (complimentary), Airconditioning, Telephone (VOIP), Safe, Mini-bar, Flat screen TV, Room service, Ironing facilities. The bathrooms are relax areas with rain shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing