We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the center of Brussels, in a quiet and nice street behind the Opera”
Review of The Dominican

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dominican
Ranked #18 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great hotel. Spacious rooms. Brand new.

Perfectly located behind "De Munt", the Opera House, in a central but quiet street. You can walk everywhere.

The bed is incrediby confortable.

The breakfast is overpriced (27 euros per person), but there are many cafes aroudn where you can have yout morniong coffee. Also in the room you have a expresso machine (Nespresso), a water boiler and a mug set.

Room Tip: The rooms on upper floors tend the be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier123_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Javier,
Thanks for your kind words!
Please, know that we offer breakfast-to-go at 'sexy' pricing.
Best regards,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 2,228 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Wow! What a great hotel. I would give it a 9 on a scale of 10. Great people who work there (they understand hospitality). Great location, beautiful rooms and great breakfast! I am also very fond of the theming. They pull through in letting the abbey-feel and theme come back throughout the hotel.

A drawback is housekeeping. The room looked clean when we entered it. The following morning I saw a piece of paper lying underneath the edge of the bed, which I thought my partner had dropped. it turned out to be a flight tag (we drove in). When I looked under the bed it was full of rubbish (empty water bottle, candy wrapper, lots of dust and crumbs. This wasn't just a once off in bad housekeeping, considering the dust it's pretty much standard. I sincerely hope they will improve on this (I mentioned it to the reception desk)... It's such a beautiful place, I would give them a chance again...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m_overbeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear guest,
I appreciate your review.
And I sincerely apologize for the negligent housekeeping in your room.
I am grateful for this information; this way, we are enabled to improve!
Warm regards,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in an updated building of a former monastery. The lobby was super inviting and we were promptly served even allowing a much earlier check-in which was greatly appreciated. The rooms were not huge but used the space well and bed was very comfortable. The rain shower was excellent as finally a hotel that had proper water pressure! The lighting in the bathroom could have been a bit more and the cleaning crew needs to get behind the desk and under the bed to remove some collecting dust as I noticed when I dropped something.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbryant73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thanks a lot for your lovely words!
Nice to learn you have appreciated the early check-in.
Yours,
The Dominican team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

little hard to find( especially if you are driving) we booked 5 rooms last week last day of a wedding trip
the rooms were small need an it degree to work the phones( whatever happened to 0 operator
1 front desk etc) sometimes progress actually makes simple things complicated

we met at the bar area

totally clueless staff resulted in manager buying us all a drink

asked the Conceirge if there was a walking area told that everything closed near the hotel so we had a dinner at the Burga Queen around the corner had a great dinner but when we walked towards the square every bar every restsurant was open worst advise every given by a hotel front
desk

had an early flight room extremely noisy

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikegboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear guest,
I thank you for having taken the time to write about your experiences at The Dominican.
And I am really sorry for any misunderstanding between you and my colleagues!
A good lesson for better communication in the future...
Yours sincerely,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed a long weekend in Brussels. A typical city break. The hotel is in a perfect walking distance location in the heart of the city. We enjoyed the stylish interior and the comfortable well equipped room. The breakfast is excellent. Just some minor staff training matters should be considered by the management. A bit more teamwork at the front desk would be advisable. For example there was team of 2 staff in the lobby, but the lady was a bit overwhelmed with work and helped guests with the luggage, meanwhile the man at the desk did not really appear to be a helpful gentleman. We were also quite surprised that at 6 pm the room was not cleaned – the excuse that on the first day, they usually do a so called “petit tour” what a bit strange in fact: the room was not cleaned at all. But I must say, that they fixed it in no time. I recommend the The Domincan and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZrhWorldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

A million thanks for your nice recommendation!
Please, know that your ideas are taken into our deepest consideration.
Greetings from The Dominican team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

As usual, using the advices of travelers on this site, we were right. It was a wonderful experience to stay at this hotel. We liked everything, the hotel has its own unique features, the interior of each room laid out in detail, excellent work of designers. The guest room is equipped with all you need for a comfortable stay: iron, coffee maker, kettle, bathrobe / slippers, high speed Internet, desk, coffee table, sofa, comfortable bed, lovely spacious shower (or a bath of your choice). The restaurant is very quite good, the cuisine and the service at a good level, a lovely patio. And a lot of nice details you'll find for yourself in this hotel, we highly recommend it for a stay in Brussels. The staff was helpful and friendly, no complaints. Location is quite good, a little lost on the first day, even though the Grand Place Square in 5 minutes walk away, a little confused in the side streets. Central Station is 10 minutes of quiet steps, by taxi we paid 12 euro , take your pick. With pleasure I wrote this review, I hope it will be useful

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irina0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dearest Irina,
With pleasure you've written this review...
With even more pleasure we've enjoyed your charming words!
Thank you so much,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel is in great location to the attractions in Brussels. The Grand Place is a short 5 minute walk.

The hotel is very well presented with helpful staff, fantastic comfy rooms (large comfy bed, rain shower, large bathroom, bathrobes, espresso machine) and a lovely atmosphere. We didn't eat in the restaurant as was quite expensive and wanted to see traditional Brussels restaurants but did look very nice. The hotel has a large seating area for a well-deserved drink after a day’s sightseeing. We also found the hotel to be very quiet which helps in getting that good night sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Greek_Maestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thanks a lot for your kindest writings!
Please, spread the word allllllll over Cyprus...
Greetings from The Dominican team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,389 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#6 of 199 in Brussels
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.2 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#13 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#21 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $136 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dominican, first member of Design Hotels™ in Brussels, is a destination for elegance in the centre of Brussels. The Dominican is a deluxe design hotel, poised to become a destination for elegance in the city centre. It's stylish rooms, private courtyard and bustling Grand Lounge combine to ensure indulgent hospitality. In the Grand Lounge, located adjacent to an intimate inner courtyard, our breakfast, lunch and dinner are served. The Lounge Bar is a combination of contemporary cafe and stylish lounge, making this the perfect destination for a relaxing break. A delectable selection of food and drinks are available to enjoy at any moment throughout the day. For a relaxing experience or an energy boost you can visit our health club with gym, sauna, steambath and massage. Stay and experience one of our 150 stylishly designed deluxe rooms, executive rooms or one of The Dominican's 3 exclusive suites. All our rooms are equipped with all modern amenities. WIFI (complimentary), Airconditioning, Telephone (VOIP), Safe, Mini-bar, Flat screen TV, Room service, Ironing facilities. The bathrooms are relax areas with rain shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing