We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too posh for me”
Review of The Dominican

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dominican
Ranked #19 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Lovely hotel but with a very strong sense of class and style that just didn't work for me - hard to describe but just too posh. The restaurant looked fabulous but breakfast was incredibly expensive so I didn't bother, and I didn't dare think about eating there in the evening (I don't think I was stylish enough to be let in, and I probably wouldn't understand the menu). I ended up buying snacks etc from a nearby convenience store and sneaking them back in... The other guests looked very wealthy.

The room was fine - the wifi was desperately slow. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

But the location - absolutely superb, both for work and for pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManInSuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dearest reviewer,
I really feel sorry for your thoughts about not looking good enough for staying with us.
It never is within our intentions to provoke such bad feelings...
More over, we love diversity and we will always be delighted to welcome & serve whatever kind of guest, regardless color, income, style...
Warm regards,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,030 - 1,036 of 2,289 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

I could not fault The Dominican!

The location is great...within walking distance of the heart of Brussels.
The staff very professional & courteous.
The room spacious and comfortable.

... and best of all - the central courtyard that most of the rooms overlook make you forget you are in the middle of a major European city.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank HillpeopleMarlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear guest,
Thanks for the short but lovely recommendation!
Please, never hesitate to come back...
Yours sincerely,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were delighted with our two-night stay at The Dominican. After an overnight international flight, we arrived at the hotel at 10am, hoping only to be able to check our bags. However, they had a room available and checked us in early, with no extra charge. The room was clean and well appointed, the bed was comfortable, and the location of the hotel is ideal for navigating around Brussels easily. The staff members we encountered were all friendly, exceptionally helpful and professional, giving us walking directions, train schedules, restaurant recommendations, advice about sightseeing, holding luggage (gratis) after our checkout and more. The building is a former monastery, and the chant playing in the elevator and in our room at check-in was a classy touch -- soothing and timeless. We would gladly stay here again, and have already recommended it to friends and associates.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoodTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Big thanks for all flowers!
Happy to learn that you have appreciated the early check-in.
Please, spread the word...
Sincere greetings from The Dominican team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in April and found it to be a great experience. The property is very contemporary and probably just went under a renovation recently. The room is super uber nice with good bedding which is necessity for travellers. Location is also top notched as it is conveniently near the main area of Grand Platz and the restaurant rows. However, because it is located on the private street...it is very quiet at night so you can get a good rest. Going to the train station is walkable but at the time, the sidewalk is under some construction and the weather is a bit cold, so we asked the hotel to arrange the cab to drop us and our luggages off the morning we departed. Overall, I woul definitely recommend this hotel. Make sure you get a good value for the price though.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank PoppyLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Poppy,
I particularly appreciate your kindest review.
Nice to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at The Dominican to the maximum!
Please, spread the message all over Bangkok...
Warm regards,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in May 2013. The hotel is nice, but I don't see where it gets its very high rating. Rooms are stylish, but small. Internet in my case was free and had decent speed, which is a plus. But many things were not good enough to get a top rating.
I checked in with multiple bags, and nobody was available to help with the bags. There is no valet to help with parking, and if you plan to have a car (not recommended if you only need to be downtown in Brussels) you need to park it in a nearby public garage. The hotel is also in a blocked off pedestrian area so you can not get there by car without a code to lower the barriers.
Breakfast is too limited for the high price.
The hotel was a former monastry of some sort and I guess that is why there is "chanting" music
in the background everywhere, including on TV. This very quickly got to me. Almost creepy.
Overall a good hotel, but I have stayed in places with better service in Brussels, so I would not come here again.

Room Tip: good for walking into brussels. not good with car. I would also not recommend with small children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerbrand C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear guest,
Many thanks for your detailed feedback and useful recommendations.
Your honesty is highly appreciated!
An opinion always remains personal, though extremely useful when referring to hospitality.
Wishing you very well,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed at the Dominican for two nights. The feel of the hotel from the moment I stepped in was so relaxing and welcoming that was exactly what I needed after my journey. Room was very clean and of very good size for a single occupier. Great variety of breakfast. One minor pitfall with the Nespresso machine not working. The location is very close to the city centre and a short walk away from the Grand Place. Would stay again at the Dominican with no second thought.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alitheia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Alitheia,
I insist on thanking you for such nice compliments!
Heartwarming...
Do not hesitate to return,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Dominican was a real find. We stayed for 3 nights. The location was just perfect, 5 minutes from the main sites in Brussels. The room was modern and of average size. The staff was very helpful, there were plenty of people at the reception and there were no queus. I did not go for the breakfast, a little overpriced at 27 euros, instead there are plenty of cafes less than 5 min from the hotel. There are a lot of good restaurants around the hotel as well, I particularly recommend Belga Queen, 3 min away.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perseus3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear guest,
Many thanks for the lovely review!
Always good to know about your experiences...
London is not that far away, so why not come back soon?
Best regards,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,449 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#72 of 199 in Brussels
2,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
0.3 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
1.4 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#15 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $159 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dominican, first member of Design Hotels™ in Brussels, is a destination for elegance in the centre of Brussels. The Dominican is a deluxe design hotel, poised to become a destination for elegance in the city centre. It's stylish rooms, private courtyard and bustling Grand Lounge combine to ensure indulgent hospitality. In the Grand Lounge, located adjacent to an intimate inner courtyard, our breakfast, lunch and dinner are served. The Lounge Bar is a combination of contemporary cafe and stylish lounge, making this the perfect destination for a relaxing break. A delectable selection of food and drinks are available to enjoy at any moment throughout the day. For a relaxing experience or an energy boost you can visit our health club with gym, sauna, steambath and massage. Stay and experience one of our 150 stylishly designed deluxe rooms, executive rooms or one of The Dominican's 3 exclusive suites. All our rooms are equipped with all modern amenities. WIFI (complimentary), Airconditioning, Telephone (VOIP), Safe, Mini-bar, Flat screen TV, Room service, Ironing facilities. The bathrooms are relax areas with rain shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing