We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly magnificent”
Review of The Dominican

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dominican
Ranked #18 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Truly magnificent”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Based on the tripadvisor web site, we had high expectations of this hotel. But the reviews and pictures do not do it justice. The hotel is perfectly located... quiet yet 5 minutes from everything. The decor is lovely, the building is majestic and the breakfast (buffet but one can also order from the menu... try the Eggs Benedict) delicious. The rooms were big enough and modern. TIP: If one does NOT want to hear the TV in the bathroom, just disconnect the red and white audio recable at the back of the TV.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Really happy to learn about your contentment! We hope to welcome you soon back. Best regards. Gilles Devos, Director of Sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,235
    677
    158
    61
    40
See reviews for
178
1,107
102
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Can not beat the price for the luxury of this hotel. The location is perfect, you can walk from the main strain station to the hotel and a few blocks away are all the major Brussels attractions. The room was so nice I almost didn't want to go explore the city! The TV sound also plays in the bathroom, which is quite nice for listening to the ambient jams they have on tv when you arrive in the room. The lobby is beautiful as well. Can't complain at all this hotel is modern, renovated, classy and excellent service!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanceFlossTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
A million thanks for such laudatory words! Please, do not wait too long to return! And spread the word. Warmest regards. Gilles Devos, Director of Sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

It's a nice and clean hotel, although the rooms are not very large but it is not tight either. The amenities are good and even the in-room coffee taste great. The music in the room and hallways of the room are not the most appealing though.

It's walking distance to the train station and to the touristy food streets that we enjoyed very much. It is also close to the grand palace and the square where the pissing manekin is. It is also close to convenient shops where we bought drinking water from but mind that these shops closes pretty early in the evening.

Overall, it was a great place to stay and would not hessitate to stay there again if only the price/cost of staying there do not go too high.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lil_cat_meow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks a lot for the very nice review! Never hesitate to return. Kind regards. Gilles Devos, Director of Sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I made a spur of the moment decision to travel to Amsterdam solo during the holidays. I decided to pop over to Brussels for a couple of days during the trip since it was so close. Brussels is a beautiful city, but I was having a hard time getting around by myself since I was alone with my bags and all the streets have two names that change names pretty much every block. I finally found a wifi connection and was able to book a room at this centrally located hotel.

The interior is beautiful and there is a lot of attention to detail. The staff spoke perfect English and I was checked in right away. The ambiance was really cool--it was like a monastery theme which was very unique. The room was spacious (for me--but again, I was alone).

Definitely enjoy the steam room and sauna (warning--it is co-ed so make sure you are comfortable with that). I did that and then went back to my room and took a hot shower and immediately passed out in the fluffy white bed. I was planning to go out that night but then I ended up sleeping for twelve hours and it was STILL hard to get up the next morning!

After staying in hostels the whole time, this was a much-needed respite from my lack of relaxation and sleep. I would definitely recommend this hotel as it is also in a perfect location for exploring the city on foot. The staff was SO helpful with telling me where I should go and what I should see while in Brussels. If you feel like splurging, it's worth it to stay here a couple of nights. I have zero complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caseyh06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
I really, really loved your particular story! The unplanned often becomes your biggest success! Please, spread the word across the USA! All my best regards. Gilles Devos, Director of Sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel was really great. It's very modern but at the same time low-key. The room was very clean with all the modern amenities--very good bathroom and modern shower. I had a great stay there. It's just a few blocks from the Grand Place, The Bourse, the central train station and Cathedral, as well as not too far from the Mont des Arts and Place St. Catherine. The hotel also has a good restaurant. I ordered room service one night and had a great dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks a lot for your nice review! Let NY know all about The Dominican! Awaiting your return...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great central location. Felt comfortable as soon as we walked through the door. The concierge Jerome was so friendly and helpful even after switching our NYE dinner reservation 3 times at our request. Our room as beautiful and the bed was so comfy getting up in the morning was sometimes difficult. The staff at this hotel made the last 5 days of our honeymoon very special. Would absolutely stay at The Dominican again.

Room Tip: Breakfast is pricey but there is a great market down the street where we got yogurt everyday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cirkusgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dearest honeymooners, nice to read about your unique experience at The Dominican! Have a happy life together, and never hesitate to return for a celebration of 5 years, 10 years,...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is located within walking distance from a lot of the sights and the train station making it a convenient place to stay. It was very clean and the shower was heavenly. I wish the beds were a tad more comfortable but overall not a bad stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannebong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Many thanks for your nice review, Joanne! Short though powerful. Wishing you the very best. Gilles Devos, Director of Sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,302 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.8 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#16 of 199 in Brussels
4,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#8 of 199 in Brussels
339 reviews
1.4 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Property: The Dominican
Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#14 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#21 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dominican, first member of Design Hotels™ in Brussels, is a destination for elegance in the centre of Brussels. The Dominican is a deluxe design hotel, poised to become a destination for elegance in the city centre. It's stylish rooms, private courtyard and bustling Grand Lounge combine to ensure indulgent hospitality. In the Grand Lounge, located adjacent to an intimate inner courtyard, our breakfast, lunch and dinner are served. The Lounge Bar is a combination of contemporary cafe and stylish lounge, making this the perfect destination for a relaxing break. A delectable selection of food and drinks are available to enjoy at any moment throughout the day. For a relaxing experience or an energy boost you can visit our health club with gym, sauna, steambath and massage. Stay and experience one of our 150 stylishly designed deluxe rooms, executive rooms or one of The Dominican's 3 exclusive suites. All our rooms are equipped with all modern amenities. WIFI (complimentary), Airconditioning, Telephone (VOIP), Safe, Mini-bar, Flat screen TV, Room service, Ironing facilities. The bathrooms are relax areas with rain shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing