We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best in the centre of Brussels”
Review of The Dominican

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dominican
Ranked #18 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
County Meath, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“The very best in the centre of Brussels”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our daughter booked us into the Dominican for four days. Had visited there before. The atmosphere inside is delightful with candles flickering everywhere. Annastasia in Reception made us very welcome. Our room overlooked a courtyard and was spacious and very comfortable, with tea/coffee making + a wall safe and an excellent shower. Lighting was a bit dim, in keeping with the atmosphere of the whole hotel.
Bart prices are very high but the attention to detail by staff compensated. An excellent hotel for exploring Brussels - as we walked everywhere - near to churches, shops etc. Will be back again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RetireeOldcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
We appreciate your efforts to share the experience with the world out there! Thank you so much! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,235
    677
    158
    61
    40
See reviews for
178
1,107
102
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

perfect situation for exploring central Brussels easily on foot, within easy reach of the Grand Palais etc although parts are slightly hilly, which may be a problem for some. Numerous restaurants, bars, coffee shops and of course vast selection of chocolate shops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank english_audrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for such kind review! I am sure it will inspire others to find their way to The Dominican...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was an outstanding hotel, the executive rooms are of a high standard, great staff, good food and excellent wine list. There are informal seating in a variety of environments, depending on your mood.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a rather different city centre hotel experience.

Room Tip: Rooms to rear are very quiet and executive rooms are very well laid out for working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrusselsAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
A million thanks for your lovely recommendations! Happy to know you happy! Best wishes...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

For my first trip to Brussels, we decided to stay at the Dominican Hotel. We were not disappointed. Overall, the hotel is just central to pretty much anything downtown Brusssels. I mean a 5 / 10 minute walk to the Grand Palais, Metro stops a block away, access to the Anasch Blvd (movie theaters, restaurants, shopping area). You have to love the person that created the design and feel of the place. Truly inviting environment from the entrance to the lobby upto the actual bedrooms. Bedrooms were modern and comfortable. (really comfortable by the way.. I slept some nights for 7 hours because the bed was relaxing) Possibly the only thing lacking was their choice of TV shows. I was here for 10 days and CNN, BBC,etc.. is not going to cut it for me. They really should update their movie access channel to more up to date feature films. Great staff, who seem to be fluent in English, French and Dutch. The gym was lacking a bit. I wasn't hoping for a Gold's Gym, but I was definitely not expecting a jump rope and a few bikes either. The restaurant food was good, but a little steep for breakfast (30Euros, not a good). Thankfully, you have many choices right around the corner to choose from at a more reasonable price. If we ever come back to Brussels, I'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: if you don't need a spectacular view, i would ask for a room that is on the backside of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TruBluSigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thanks a lot for such detailed review! Cherish the memory of every good experience! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We very much enjoyed our two-night stay at the Dominican. The location is excellent for exploring the lower town portion of the city, only a very short walk from the Grand Place. The public areas of the hotel are fantastic - with really high ceilings and contemporary decor. We enjoyed having drinks in the bar area. Our room was large (with very high ceilings), and the bed was incredibly comfortably soft. The bathroom was beautiful with a large walk-in shower that had great water pressure. Being a former abbey, they play choir music in the lift and on the television when you first enter the room. We kept the television on the choir music channel all the time - because it was so relaxing. The staff were quite helpful. They recommended the Belga Queen one night for dinner and made reservations for us.

My complaints are very minor:

1) The door is not well insulated for sound - so you can hear everything going on in the hallway. Our next-door neighbours must have had friends staying in another room on the same floor and must have turned the bolt so that their door wouldn't lock. Their door kept slamming all night as their friends went back and forth.

2) The thermostat wouldn't allow you to set the temperature - just either more cool or more warm. The room was quite warm - and we never could get it to cool down. We guessed that they either run the heat or the air conditioning and that they had switched to heat for the season. We slept with the window open one night to try to cool the room down.

Brussels was great. While in Brussels, we ate at Belga Queen and Publico for dinner. I recommend both.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Many thanks for your inspiring message! Never hesitate to return! Warm regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We decided we needed a break so planned a trip on Eurostar to Brussels. We booked the Dominican Hotel following reviews from Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. The staff were very welcoming, giving us a map of the city and pointing out place s of interest. The hotel is ideally situated within a very short walk from the old and newer parts of Brussels. Easy walking distance to the Metro gives access to the Gare Midi and Eurostar.
We had a very clean and spacious room with free wifi and mini-bar. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in and so, after 3 nights, we returned home relaxed and refreshed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalWanderer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
A million thanks for such delightful words, global wanderer! Sharing is caring! Warm regards. Happy New Year...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

It all looks cool and they have a nice breakfast buffet, but that's about it. The first week I stayed at The Dominican I found a room service bill from a previous occupant in my room and a dirty glass was not taken away for 4 days. A clearly visible coffee stain on the wooden floor (I do not drink coffee) remained there until the end of my stay. The second week I stayed at The Dominican the heating in my room was not working properly. Overall the WiFi is ridiculously slow, so if you are staying here for work, you are more likely to hit your computer out of frustration than to get much work done. Disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Anthony, I am really sorry to learn about your disenchantment! I appreciate your writing, it gives us the opportunity to fine tune...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,302 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.8 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#16 of 199 in Brussels
4,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#8 of 199 in Brussels
339 reviews
1.4 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Property: The Dominican
Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#14 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#21 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dominican, first member of Design Hotels™ in Brussels, is a destination for elegance in the centre of Brussels. The Dominican is a deluxe design hotel, poised to become a destination for elegance in the city centre. It's stylish rooms, private courtyard and bustling Grand Lounge combine to ensure indulgent hospitality. In the Grand Lounge, located adjacent to an intimate inner courtyard, our breakfast, lunch and dinner are served. The Lounge Bar is a combination of contemporary cafe and stylish lounge, making this the perfect destination for a relaxing break. A delectable selection of food and drinks are available to enjoy at any moment throughout the day. For a relaxing experience or an energy boost you can visit our health club with gym, sauna, steambath and massage. Stay and experience one of our 150 stylishly designed deluxe rooms, executive rooms or one of The Dominican's 3 exclusive suites. All our rooms are equipped with all modern amenities. WIFI (complimentary), Airconditioning, Telephone (VOIP), Safe, Mini-bar, Flat screen TV, Room service, Ironing facilities. The bathrooms are relax areas with rain shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing