We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belgian monks singing in the lift!”
Review of The Dominican

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dominican
Ranked #18 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2012

First impressions when you walk in are very good. Beautiful serene lounge areas with attentive staff behind reception. The bar and outside courtyard aare kept to an immaculate standard and the food is very nice too. The rooms although reasonable size and are in a boutique style are probably not as amazing as the first impressions given by the impressive entrance to the hotel but are well equipped and comfortable. Listen people this is a very nice hotel and i would stay again definitely but be aware that its not cheap and if youre driving parking is a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markhusted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Dear Mark,
Many thanks for your honesty!
I appreciate your efforts to write things down.
About the parking... 2 public parkings are within close walking distance:
1) Parking Ecuyer
2) Parking Monnaie
I hope this information will be helpful for your next stay with us.
Best regards,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,207)
There are newer reviews for The Dominican
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,139 - 1,145 of 2,207 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

There are very few redeeming features about Brussels - it's basically a grey, drab concrete European city with one impressive square and one nice arcade. Tourism is basically on a budget so it's hard to well unless you want moules/frites. But all that aside. the Dominican transports you to another place: a clean, modern, a uber-cool building in the centre of town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank faktoader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Woaw, sounds like The Dominican 'makes' Brussels!
Many thanks for such a flattering compliment.
Please spread the word,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I didn't stay here ( bit too expensive ) but do come in and check out their nice coctail bar. An excellent place to start of finish your evening diner.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank YvesDebroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Dear Yves,
I am happy to learn about your kindest appreciation for our Lounge Bar!
As you say it beautifully, we do our utmost to serve in style.
Thank you,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

First things first.. I live in Brussels, so don't stay in the hotel's here alot. When people visit me though whether it be for business or pleasure there are only a couple of places I recommend that they stay, and The Dominican is always top of the list.

It has class, style, identity, location, cocktails, space.. everything you need. For the price and location it's my top pick in Brussels.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank DiscoVolante10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Dear,
I am speechless!
Really!
A million thanks,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

A really great hotel at a great location. Nice patio terrasse providing you with a haven of freedom in the center of the city.

A few bemols however :

Some people were reporting that the Internet connection was very slow. I can confirm that and this is the case as much for the wifi as for their connected computers in the lobby. It was so slow that it was unusable up to the point that I would say they have no Internet connection.

Getting out of the lift, they could have signs on the wall showing you in which direction you have to go for your room number, which is a standard at many hotels.

For whatever reason, the sink in the basin was closed all the sudden. We couldn't figure out how to open (and close) it ("Design Hotel" ;) ). So we lifted it manually and put a piece of soap in between to keep it open.

And the whole atmosphere could be a little more personal and socializing.

Apart from these observations, it is certainly on of the best places to stay in Brussels, a high overall quality that is not overpriced.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slylux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Dear guest,
I highly value your detailed report.
For sure, I am taking your comments about the service level and the internet providing into deepest consideration.
About the signing, when leaving the elevators on the upper floors, there are clear signs on the wall with all room numbers (for turning whether left or right).
And concerning the sinks in our basins, you only have to push them down manually for opening and closing.
I am sincerely sorry for not having been more obvious on those few points.
Thank you for having taken the time to write things down.
Hoping to welcome you soon again,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Great location - just a quick walk from the Grand Place. Modern, beautiful hotel, with like-new rooms and amenities. Helpful staff. The only drawback was that we had trouble getting the temperature in our room down - but that's not uncommon for European hotels.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ejc518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Dear,
Thank you for such kind support!
Hoping to welcome you back soon,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

THis is a very high quality place. Rooms are modern and refreshing and comfortable. Common areas very nice. Reasonably priced rooms too. Breakfast was outrageously expensive and very definiteyl not worth the cost. A $35USD pp, there simply was no where near the appropraite variety or quality to justify that cost. Skip the hotel breakfast, walk a couple of blocks and have a btter experience at a cafe. Don't let this cool you on the property though. Really nice, well located. Public parking in less than a block if you are driving.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruiseagentandtaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Dear guest,
Many thanks for your honest review.
About the breakfast... did you have the opportunity to run through the listed menu with all options to order aside the wide buffet?
A la carte at no extra charge!
Sincerely hoping for you to give us another chance one day soon,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 198 in Brussels
2,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#7 of 198 in Brussels
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
1.4 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#13 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#21 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $143 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dominican, first member of Design Hotels™ in Brussels, is a destination for elegance in the centre of Brussels. The Dominican is a deluxe design hotel, poised to become a destination for elegance in the city centre. It's stylish rooms, private courtyard and bustling Grand Lounge combine to ensure indulgent hospitality. In the Grand Lounge, located adjacent to an intimate inner courtyard, our breakfast, lunch and dinner are served. The Lounge Bar is a combination of contemporary cafe and stylish lounge, making this the perfect destination for a relaxing break. A delectable selection of food and drinks are available to enjoy at any moment throughout the day. For a relaxing experience or an energy boost you can visit our health club with gym, sauna, steambath and massage. Stay and experience one of our 150 stylishly designed deluxe rooms, executive rooms or one of The Dominican's 3 exclusive suites. All our rooms are equipped with all modern amenities. WIFI (complimentary), Airconditioning, Telephone (VOIP), Safe, Mini-bar, Flat screen TV, Room service, Ironing facilities. The bathrooms are relax areas with rain shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing