We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel in my life” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solys Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brussels
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solys Hotel
Ranked #190 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Rajapalayam, India
Level Contributor
125 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Worst hotel in my life”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

Worst hotel that I ever stayed. I was given a room in 3rd floor and no lifts. The steps were too narrow that I could not carry my luggages to the room and each floor had about 15 to 20 steps. When I reached the room, I thought I may need a medical emergency. I really died before I climbed the steps on narrow stairs with heavy luggage.

Room was too hot, there was an airconditioner, but no switch for that. I think that is just for a show case. Toilets were not clean. I opened the window and it smelled like ditch outside.

The hotel advertise Free wifi. But it really didnt work. I think they dont have any wifi at all. I had a terrible experience and really the cost you pay here is too expensive for this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a good hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volcanoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    9
    12
    23
See reviews for
6
7
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

This was a last minute business trip, the drill was to get the train from London , get a quick shower in an hotel close to midi station, go for dinner with some clients etc.
The secretary booked it for 295 euro, it was a dump with my room being at the top of the steepest stairway ever, if there was an old witch with a spindle and a poisoned apple i wouldn't have been surprised.
Its in a bad area, it seems like north africa and frankly i was careful. i have never wrote a review on this before but this place was so bad i felt i had too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brussels hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

Having booked, prepaid €150 for one night, phoned the hotel to say I was arriving at 22.00, I found on arrival that my room had been sold. The website was by then advertising rooms at €250! The whole place stank of old dirt and greasy food, so when I was eventually put in a taxi and sent to another hotel it was a relief to get away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muchtravelled_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

Wireless FREE, Breakfast buffet included, room simple but clean, good value

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MoiN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

Hotel Solys cancelled our hotel rooms and gave them away to other customers because we arrived after 6pm. Now they have charged EUR99 for cancellation policy. The hotel receptionist was disgustingly rude, and completely unapologetic for cancelling our rooms (also with absolutely no attempt to contact us to confirm the booking) and unwilling to help us find alternative accommodation. I will write as many bad reviews as I possibly can because I have never ever in my 29 years of travelling, experienced hotel service as bad as this.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhan3786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

I stayed this hotel for 2 nights. Since there are some comments about this hotel, I want to share my experience with this hotel. Overall, I was happy with this hotel.

1. Location
It is about 5-minutes walk from Midi station to hotel. And this location has good and bad things. For good thing, you can go everywhere with Midi station. But, for bad thing, I was not so happy while walking to/from hotel since I felt it is not so safe. Also, hotel is located just next to railway and in front of road. (I guess it might be one of major roads in Brussels.) I admit that people who are sensitive on noise while sleeping must not stay this hotel. It is a little bit noisy. But, for me, it was not a big issue, so I don't have any problem.

2. Hotel
Since hotel building looks quite old, there are some bad things. As many people mentioned, you have to walk upstairs. Also, stairs are so steep and small, so that I felt unsafe while bring my luggages down when checking-out. And though I could see hotels are a little bit renovated, smells in rooms are a little bit bad. But, hotels are clean.

3. Breakfast
Breakfast is simple. There are breads, cereals and yogurts with coffee, tea, juice and milks. It is not a good breakfast in 3-star, but it is not so bad when you think how much you pay for staying in Brussels.

4. Internet
If you have lap-top, let front staffs know and they will tell you code for wi-fi. However, I couldn't connect internet on 2nd day while it was OK on 1st day.

Actually, it is one of low-budget hotels in Brussels. When you are expecting 3-star or comfortable hotels, I would not recommend this hotel. But, if you are expecting cheap and simple hotel in Brussels, I think this hotel can be one of your choice. I don't want to rate this hotel 3-star. But, I will stay here again if I go to Brussels again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flightrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2009

I'll be upfront, Brussels isn't my favourite town, and the Gare du Midi area is wwhat you get around any major train station.

That being said the Solys lived up to my expectations for the city/area/price. I chose it because of the location to my appointments and the free wifi. The staff was helpful and the breakfast might have been shy of the €10 price, but it saved me the hassle of finding a place to eat at 6 in the morning.

I'd stay there again if I had business in that part of town.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ffmdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brussels Midi Station
Novotel Brussels Midi Station
#5 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nekotel Concept Art Hotel
Nekotel Concept Art Hotel
#171 of 200 in Brussels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Euro Capital
Euro Capital
#16 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stalingrad
Hotel Stalingrad
#149 of 200 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Brussels Midi
0.1 mi away
Hotel Midi-Zuid
Hotel Midi-Zuid
#19 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solys Hotel

Property: Solys Hotel
Address: Boulevard du Midi 81-82 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Solys Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing