We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid like the plague - or you might catch it!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Grand Colombier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Grand Colombier Hotel
Ranked #184 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague - or you might catch it!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel last night (Sept 2013) and I wish I could get that night off my life back. I travel a lot with work and I can categorically say this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in some rough ones!

As other reviews have stated the hotel is down a manky alley with numerous dodgy types hanging around outside. We initially went to the entrance of the Grand Colombier which we found chained shut and had to enter through the next door entrance to the Aberdeen. The lobby looks like a drop in centre for homeless people having once been decorated sometime in the last 50 years. The chap behind the counter was ok but didn't exactly provide a warm welcome. We were given rooms 9 and 10 and told they were on the second floor. No such luxury as a lift we headed in the direction of the stairs. En route we noticed the reason for the chaining shut of the main entrance. This vestibule was stuffed full of skanky old mattresses, nice fire hazard!

The concept of lights on a tight windy stairs was clearly alien to this hotel and you have to find the push button to see the way. My room (room 10) could best be described as hideous. The floor was a wood effect vinyl, with numerous cigarette burns marring the surface. The bed was reminiscent of one in a prison (I do work in Prisons so I know what I am talking about her), with a metal frame, thin mattress and open metal springs. The other noticeable thing was lots of wires trailing around the place for the TV etc. The bathroom was even worse. The vanity unit containing the sink wasn't attached to the wall and had a 5cm gap at the back. The shower looked hideous and the toilet not much better. My colleague had room 9 and didn't fair much better. His room had a similar metal bed, but this time with a fine bend in the middle. The room only had a single socket which all the electrical items in the room daisy chained from this room. Unfortunately this socket didn't seem to work. HIs bathroom had a carpet, really!, with a number of indescribable stains. His shower featured a frosted window onto the landing. Neither of us had any hot water for a shower in the morning.

We decided to leave early and skip breakfast.

Unless you live in a rubbish dump of have masochistic tendencies I would highly recommend you avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    19
    28
    14
    26
See reviews for
4
43
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is really awful! It spoiled our vacation. The shower was very very old and you really didn' t want to touch anything in there. So old that even when well cleaned you didn' t really want to use it. There was no view and you felt like in prison, you couldn' t spend even a few happy hours to rest there. There was no elevator. The matresses were old and the linens had holes! Can' t they at least buy new bed linens? Are they soo expensive?

And where is the value for money? 100 euros/night for such an awful room without breakfast. You can give 20 euros more and have a decent place to live with breakfast in Brussels.

Not at all to recommend for families, maybe for backpackers for just one night, but still, it will spoil your vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mathilda9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Antalya, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel is in a narrow back street off the Boulevard, really bad at day time and worse at night with suspicious looking people hanging around and dangerous after dark. First they tried to give us an inferior room, to the one booked then another one, worse than the previous. By this time the surly lady receptionist was annoyed and demanded payment in advance, became rude and threatened to refuse us breakfast. Room was dirty, with badly soiled sheets, stained walls from “couples nightly activities”. One window and latching mechanism were completely broken, hidden from view by drawn curtains to be discovered later. Another was permanently shut as the mechanism had been removed to avoid repairs. Bulbs missing from light fittings, broken furniture etc. When requested the window to be fixed they said no one is available and did nothing. Upon complaining for our safety they became more aggressive and rude. When we asked for a refund as our good faith had we clearly had been defrauded, it made things worse. We left a note for the owner and fixed an appointment to resolve the issue but nobody showed up. In the end we had to go elsewhere without any recompense other than rudeness and abuse. Even the day after the window was still permanently open. This place is a trap to unsuspecting guest, unsafe for health and safety, as well as for hygiene, but cost us a lot of money. Websites should not allow owners to mislead people with “edited” pictures into the hands of these unscrupulous operators who exploit the regulations and their guests with impunity. The worse I've ever visited in Europe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dino L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hotel has 2 names, Colombier and Aberdeen, but are both the same. We stayed in the Aberdeen building.
We chose this hotel for it's price and location. It was fairly easy to find (with directions/map) and close enough to the metro (about an 8 minute walk) to make it just what we needed. The hotel itself is located on a back alley side street that smells of urine and trash. No matter which hotel you are staying in you check into the front office of Hotel Colombier. Entering the lobby feels like walking back in time. It was probably very nice 40 years ago, but now just feels dated and dusty. There were no problems with check in, though the front desk was not overly friendly. Our room was on the 3rd floor and given the fact that the building was old, there was a very narrow, steep flight of spiral stairs with dim lighting up to our room. (Didn't see an elevator anywhere) The room was good sized and the furniture seemed newer. The floor looked like original wood, but it has not been maintained and was not clean, so the room instantly felt dirty. The room was renovated to make it look nice, but lots of corners were cut. It LOOKS nice... but things just weren't done with quality. It served its purpose and we had no real issues with the room.
The location of the hotel is prime. You are 1 block from the main shopping street which leads you right to Le Grand Place (~10 minutes). Great restaurants abound in this neighborhood as well as bars, waffles, etc.
Over all this place had a perfect location, great price, and we knew going in that it wasn't going to be a 5 star hotel. We would stay here again if were back in Brussels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DirkCallaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

My only word to describe this hotel is a DUMP!

When we arrived we actually thought it had shut down and the side street was slightly intimidating at night. Staff were not very friendly and were not helpful with us about the area.

Our room was slanted, poorly decorated. The toilet was not attached to the wall, the sink had clearly not been cleaned in a long time and the shower was less than to be desired. Their was also a slightly frosted window where the shower was which looked out onto the hall. The bed dipped in the middle and the windows did not shut properly. It did not seem clean at all and it smelt like onions.

We did not have breakfast there.

Also, someone tried to get into our room in the middle of the night and there was a man screaming outside later on that night, which was very scary!

I would not want recommend this hotel to anyone! DON'T GO! Not worth the money at all!

Location is good though, but I would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't go to it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brook M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I am in the travel industry and stay in hotels roughly 50% of the year and the Colombier has to be one of the worst that I've stayed at in the past 7 years. Luckily I only was booked for 1 night but had it been any longer I would have canceled the remainder of the reservation. The room & bathroom were dirty. I generally don't have high expectations or a lot of requirements for my accommodations but clean room, sheets, and towels are all a must and I felt that this hotel didn't suffice. I was also disappointed to find that the staff didn't have any maps of the area. I can not in good conscience recommend this hotel to other travelers...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scyates316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We booked at Colombier but were actually housed in the Aberdeen building. The hotel is located in a quiet side street. The interior stairs are poorly illuminated. Room was small but clean and warm. We were not offered breakfast, but to be honest, we did not ask. Staff did not seem know much about Brussels. Definitely a budget hotel in the center of town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JungAbernathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.0 mi away
Esperance
Esperance
#60 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#59 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#55 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dansaert Hotel
Dansaert Hotel
#112 of 200 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#126 of 200 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Colombier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Colombier Hotel

Property: Le Grand Colombier Hotel
Address: Rue du Colombier 8-10 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Grand Colombier Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Le Grand Colombier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing