We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can't trust it!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of La Casa BXL

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Casa BXL
Ranked #53 of 208 Brussels B&B and Inns
Taipei
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You can't trust it!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

I had made a reservation on Lacasa on the Jan. I even got successfual reservation email to comfirm my room. Today I sent a email to double comfirm my reservation. They said my reservation fail.
They olny said no room for me & no any explanation. Nothing worse than that they forged the email to make me believe it's my fault.
You can't trust Lacasa. Image that you are rejected when you travel at Brussels.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loving_travel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    12
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
36
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

Great location near the grand place. great continetal breakfast of bread ham cheese brioche nutella coffee juice yoghurt as much as you want, and funky rooms decorated with a bit of style. And friendly service, we were helped a few times on how to get to where we wanted.
Go to the Atomium by tube or tram if you can, its a proper excursion, and after youve done the grand place, which is nice but gets dull after a while, go off piste and go to the flea market. DONt eat at the grand place, we had a hot choc for 3 euros each, and it was powder and water. what a way to disappoint.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffNSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

La Casa was a good place to stay, close to the Grand Place and Mannekin Pis, among other sites. The neighbourhood surprisingly seemed a little sketchy, but for only for a street or two. The rest of the area was great and offered plenty of selection for food.

Room was large and fairly clean, although the cleaning of the sheets once a week scared us a little since we don't know what someone has done in our sheets during the previous week! Could use an AC or fan to beat the heat!

staff was very friendly and carried on a nice conversation during breakfast. Food was good but standard meat, bread and cheese.
Overall a good stay and not overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungCouple234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

Very nice bed & breakfast. Rooms are clean and well decorated. The location is perfect. we stayed at the studio which is a little bit expensive but for under 100 Euros, it was incredible: huge bathroom, large bed.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingko72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

In a city where good value accommodation is at a premium, this is a treasure. Great location - well within walking distance of the Grand Place and both Central and Midi Stations. Only criticism, noted by others, is that it is not readily obvious from the street!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panthea14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2009

Stayed at Casa BXL whilst on Honeymoon, quaint and cosy place in a really good location just 5 minutes walk from the Grand Place. Staff were friendly and one of the co-owners Theo actually conspired with me to buy my new wife a big box of chocolates prior to our arrival.

Major upside is the cost which was really low when compared to other places in Brussels.

Only downsides were that the room was on the 4th floor up some very steep steps which took some negotiating with cases, and would not be suitable for the infirm. Also it could be a little bit noisy outside on occasions, but nothing major.

All in all a really good, value for money guest house.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blink_Vader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2009

Although it was hard to find (it looked like they were in the middle of outside touch-ups, one hopes this includes a large sign) this was such a fantastic place to stay. Just two blocks from some of the main tourist attractions, including the Mannekin pis, the Grand Place, Delirium Cafe and others, everything was within walking distance. The room was extremely spacious and tastefully decorated (see picture). Another added bonus was the free wifi -- it made navigating the crazy streets of Brussels that much easier. The only oddity was the bathroom door...there really wasn't one. The true test of a marriage!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.0 mi away
Downtown-BXL
Downtown-BXL
#20 of 208 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Villa Zarin
La Villa Zarin
#62 of 208 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Clarisses
Les Clarisses
#81 of 208 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Vieille Lanterne
La Vieille Lanterne
#55 of 208 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Petite Eclipse
La Petite Eclipse
#79 of 208 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.3 mi away
2Go4 Grand Place
2Go4 Grand Place
#10 of 119 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa BXL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa BXL

Property: La Casa BXL
Address: Rue du Marche au Charbon 116, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your La Casa BXL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing