We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blast from the past - Great location & a traditional visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Legende Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Legende Hotel
Ranked #99 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blast from the past - Great location & a traditional visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

It's funny, but this hotel was once a home of a friend of mine. Obviously, it has been sold on, and now it's a respectable hotel. It's right in the centre of Brussels and on a main road, a minute from the Grande Place, but this hotel is exceptionally quite and cheap. The private entrance leads into the reception and onto a lift area that services each floor. This makes it feel very private. The rooms are spacious, after all each floor used to be a seperate apartment, but they feel a little sparce. Maybe it's me, as I remember it as someone's home, but there's a wardrobe, a dressing table and a bed, so it's all very funtional. There was also a very practical and inviting en suite. I enjoyed the stay in there. Breakfast was traditionally 'continental'. I enjoyed it, reliving my time in Belgium, but may not be to everyones taste. There was unlimited coffee and pain au raisan or cheese on toasted bread in a very germanic feeling, wooden breakfast room. I enjoyed my stay, and the hotel is so convenient for the centre, I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelWell308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    132
    36
    10
    1
See reviews for
67
78
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

Huge room - very clean, staff really helpful and friendly, centrally located. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celticmaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

A decent hotel, very central location but then Brussels city centre is so small that most hotels are central. Room was fine, basic but clean. A minor gripe was the provision of a kettle but only one cup in a three-person room, no tea and no milk, so the kettle was of very little use.
Overall, not much to complain about, not much to be amazed by. A typical two-star European hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ConorO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

Great location, hotel is near to Grand Place. Ideal for a short city break. Staff friendly, rooms clean, breakfast OK.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vk_hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2009

Stayed at the La Legende in Nov 2009 for one night during our brief trip to Belgium.
We wanted a hotel near the center, yet were not overly impressed by the reviews of hotels near the Eurostar station. After looking for a hotel that would take a family of four, we decided on La Legende
Booking - Booked through the Booking.com- 155 Euros (all inclusive taxes etc) including breakfast.
Location - It's located very close to the Manneken Pis and the Grote Markt - we arrived at the central railway station which is an easy walk. We had small back packs and a stroller/buggy. The hotel is also located close to restaurants and shops.
Check-in - very efficient and friendly. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to the apartment at the top of the hotel! It was large and airy as well as being fully equipped. It would be great for an extended stay in Brussels. The apartment was very clean. On check-in, the receptionist noticed our young child and suggested a baby cot - this was delivered to our room were quickly and efficiently (+ no charge!) As we were at the top of the hotel, we didn't get too much noise except for the tooting of car horns - apparently there was a football match and the local team won!
Breakfast - included in the price. Dining room was small, but there was a reasonable choice of cereals, fruit, cheese, cold meats Coffee was via an automated espresso machine
Check-out - very quick and all billed correctly.
It was about a 15 min walk to the Eurostar station and not too difficult at all - didn't need to take a taxi or subway.
we also saw that the hotel is probably going to be renovated at some point.
We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel (even with an upgrade) and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDXPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montenegro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

I ve just came back yesterday from Brussels where I've been on a bussines trip. Well, the organizers had a chalinging task to find place for a large group in the center of the city. And, yes, they have to combine some room exchange during our stay. But, imagine a shock that I had - being not informed at all that I should be transfered to another room - when I find out that all my things (bussines papers, cosmetics, slippers, dirty underwear and some quite expensive clothes were just piled up in my suitcase and brought to the other room while I was at meetings. It made me absolutely mad. Hotel staff did not bother themselves to offer proper appologize or discount. Scandalous!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ohoo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights in Sept. 2008. The best thing by far is the location -- literally a block from the Grande Place in one direction, a block from the Manekin Pis in the opposite direction, and within reasonable walking distance to loads of shops, restaurants, parks, street markets and the Musees Royaux des Beaux Arts.

Our room was clean and bright and overlooked the lovely courtyard. The room was also very small, which was fine with us because we didn't travel all the way from the States to spend our time cooped up in a hotel room. There was a flat-panel TV and two twin beds on rollers (odd), and considering the wood-laminate flooring, this made for some interesting slipping and sliding -- I don't recommend making a flying leap onto your bed; you'll go crashing into the wall.

The room had a private bath, which was small but clean. There's no shower curtain, so prepare make somewhat of a mess when you shower, but the water pressure was good and the water was hot.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. No complaints.

A continental breakfast is included with the price of the room, and it was good -- I've certainly had worse. This is a nice place to stay, but it's not a 5-star hotel, so don't expect fine dining. We had a good breakfast each morning that easily tided us over until lunch.

My only complaint was how thin the walls were. Prepare to hear your neighbor's TV and conversations; there's no getting around this. However, since we didn't spend a lot of time in our room, this wasn't too big a deal. At night, we were so exhausted that we were able to fall asleep despite noise sometimes from the next room. And for the price and location, I was willing to put up with this small inconvenience.

All in all, this hotel is a hidden gem. If you're on a budget, plan on spending most of your time out of the hotel, and want a great, central location, clean rooms, a private bath and a friendly staff, consider La Legende.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, friendly staff
  • Disliked — thin walls
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelReviewer050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
#90 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#127 of 200 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alma Hotel
Alma Hotel
#98 of 200 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#102 of 200 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Dixseptieme
Le Dixseptieme
#84 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Legende Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Legende Hotel

Property: La Legende Hotel
Address: Rue du Lombard 35, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Legende Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your La Legende Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Legende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing