We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Legende Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Legende Hotel to your Saves list
La Legende Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Lombard, 35, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 197 Hotels in Brussels
Victoria B C
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed for two nights at La Legende in early April. It was recommended by Rick Steeves and lived up to its billing as being close to the Grand Place. In fact it was just a couple of short blocks away. It was so wonderful to visit the Grand Place at night and see the beautiful 16th century buildings all lit up with restaurants lining the square. It was also very close to the Royal Museum of Fine Arts which is a must see. The staff at the hotel were very helpful with directions and suggestions for places to eat. Our room was not large but comfortable (an inside room) and quiet. The breakfast was all you could eat and very satisfactory. What an interesting city.

Room Tip: I would recommend an inside room so that you are not disturbed by street noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank granpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    125
    36
    9
    1
See reviews for
63
76
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pisa, Itay
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I was in Brussels over the weekend and I stayed here. I had a great experience. The hotel is very centrally located. The Hop on Hop off bus is a 15 minute walk away and you are 2 blocks from the Palace.

I made the error in telling them I was caming from the "central" train station. They gave me directions for the central metro station. The train station I came in at is the "midi". While the central metro station is like 7 minutes from them (which is what they said), the midi train station is not. I took a taxi and it was like 7 euro. Not bad, but sure glad I didnt' try using the map! lol

The room is very small. Could hardly walk without touching something. That being said, it was just fine for me and my my needs. I was in room 230, and the windo faced the street. There was a lot of noise coming from the street, but it didnt' bother me. I can't attest to the breakfast as I didn't ever get it.

The hotel staff were very nice and friendly as well. Highly recommend this hotel as your home away from home while in Brussels!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmersinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed at the La Legende hotel for four nights, and I found my stay very enjoyable. The hotel's location is absolutely incredible - it is literally around the corner from both the Grand Place and the Mannekin Pis! There are plenty of restaurants around, or waffle/frites stores if that is what you would prefer for dinner (not that I did...ahem!). Each room has a window with flowers, which was very picturesque. There is also a vending machine in the lobby, which I used a few times.

The room is basic but clean, with everything you need. including a safe. I actually had an issue with my safe where it refused to open, even with my code, and the girl at the desk came up to my room immediately and unlocked it - I really appreciated that. The bathroom was very nice, and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast is continental and what you would get at any decent European hotel - pastries and chilled meat galore. They have a coffee machine, however!

Another thing I was really impressed by was the quality of the internet - it was fast, never dropped out, and free. For me, crappy internet can be a deal-breaker, so I was rather pleased with that!

Overall, my stay at La Legende was excellent, and if I'm ever in Brussels again I fully intend to repeat my stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliverdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel room in itself is very basic but very clean. The location and service is excellent. The staff are very helpful, they give a great overview of the sights to see. We had a tv problem and they were very quick in helping us out.

Helpful?
3 Thank d_j_yup
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a large room for 3 with balcony. The room was very spacious with modern decor. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Being close to the Grand Place, the location was perfect. Affordable and lovely European breakfast. I would stay here again without question!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rhonjon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I stayed one night with a last minute booking which was excellent value. I had a double room on the second floor overlooking the courtyard. It was quiet, clean, comfortable, and the bathroom was very nice. The shower is separate from the toilet and basin, but has no screen or curtain, so water may spread out a bit, but was not a problem.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and the checkin process was smooth. It was easy to find 5 minutes walk from the Grand Place square, and about 20-25 minutes walk from Brussels Midi or Brussels central, so it is possible to walk there from nearby train stations if you're fit and don't mind carrying/rolling your bags, but others may find it easier to catch a cab from the train station.

The staff were helpful, and I could store my bags there for the afternoon. The kettle, tea and coffee in the room were convenient.
The quality of the room and finishings was very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauste1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Driving into Brussels, running late for a dinner booking and with stress levels mounting, the Hotel La Legende could not have been a better choice. When looking for a hotel for our short stay, we wanted something central, cheap and with parking, so that we could maximise our time knowing the car was safe. The sat nav took us directly to the hotel, and we drove straight through the archway on Lombardstraat into the haven of the courtyard. The receptionist came out to meet us and we were parked, checked-in, changed and en route to our dinner booking just ten minutes later.

If you are travelling with a car, it is well worth pre-booking the parking as there are only two spaces in the courtyard.

The room was to a much higher standard than we had expected, nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The hotel itself is a little worn around the edges, but being just two streets away from the Grand Place, is superbly located for sight-seeing. And the super-efficient staff were a delight.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Dixseptieme
Le Dixseptieme
#49 of 197 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alma Hotel
Alma Hotel
#86 of 197 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
#95 of 197 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.2 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#41 of 197 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 stars 2,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#93 of 197 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Legende Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Legende Hotel

Property: La Legende Hotel
Address: Rue du Lombard, 35, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 197 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Legende Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your La Legende Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Legende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing