We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accomodation!”
Review of Downtown-BXL

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Downtown-BXL
Ranked #19 of 212 Brussels B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our experience here was great. It starts with a perfect location. On arrival we were warmly greeted and oriented to our room. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with a nice bathroom. Having stayed in a few bed and breakfasts in the past with a varying quality of the breakfast, I can hands down say that breakfast here was the best. This place really elevated our entire stay in Brussels.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 77SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 189 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

The location is very good, you can walk to the Grand Place in 3 minutes! Our room was on the third floor and the stairs were quite narrow (no lift) but we managed with the suitcases and the owner helped us. When we arrived, we loved or room!

The room was very clean and spacious but the bathroom was quite smalll (but it had everything we needed). The location was so central that we could hear some street noise at the weekend. The breakfast was very nice and the atmosphere was very familiar.

We stayed here for 3 nights at a rate of 78 euros per night (breakfast included). Considering its location and the price of other hotels, I think it's a very good place

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MirenMartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, last weekend and absolutely loved it. Discovering our capitol could not have been better. Theo and his friends warmly welcomed us in their gorgeous house, which situated in the beating heart of Brussels. A 5 minute walk takes you everywhere you need for a perfect city trip, real cosy bars, delicious Belgian and fusion restaurants, lots of museums, the flea market and much more. For staying downtown, not a single noise will take your sleep, thanks to the double-windowed room.
Also, awaking with such a yummy breakfast is a real treat.. but you will have to find this out for yourselves :)

Room Tip: Room 1 was excellent choice on the first floor and close to the breakfast table :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StijnAndGeraldine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

* Great location - close to underground or tram, walking distance from Grande Place (it doesn't have a big sign on the door, so don't forget the address and number otherwise you could be looking for it some while:)
* Typical Brussels house with narrow staircase, which is beautiful, but for older or bigger people could be a bit uncomfortable:)
* Helpful, accommodating and smiling staff - I really felt welcomed, I appreciate the personal approach very much!
* Beautiful room equipment (old wooden floor, stylish bathroom, the duplex apartment was really beautiful, I would choose definitely this one again!)
* Room facilities - safe, fridge, corkscrew, hairdryer..
* Great breakfast - enough of everything you can imagine for breakfast and very amiable waitress!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank articok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

This B&B is a little hard to find (it's on the corner, steps from the train stop with the name of it in really tiny writing on the door). Look for the address on the wall, right next to a book store on the corner as well. To me it felt more like a townhouse with 3 rented out bedrooms rather than a hotel or B&B. But the location was excellent, I walked to a lot of places and the metro is right there as well. The rooms are VERY spacious, I had a single that was very, very large, even for American standards. The room was modern, chic and comfy. The B&B sits off of a main street that can be noisy but with the windows closed it's not a big deal at all. It's a little lonely inside, as there is no front desk area (so you need to call a day ahead to let them know your arrival time so someone can be there for you). Also, if you have questions it may be hard to find someone inside to help you. After checking in I didn't see anyone there again except the breakfast lady. Breakfast was simple but the lady serving it was very nice. I didn't see anyone else staying there even though the guy that checked me in said all 3 rooms (yes, they only have 3 rooms) were occupied. Again, it felt more like staying in someone's home alone rather than a B&B. But I was okay with the loneliness and quiet. I'd stay here again simply for the price, location, cleanliness & hassle-free atmosphere. You can come and go 24 hours a day without a problem.

Room Tip: I think there is a 1 single, 1 double and 1 triple. The single is on the 1st floor. It has a circle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJGirlvTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Most of the reviews I read were complaining about the steep stairs, well get over it because every place has the same space saving stairs. We were welcomed and explained the details of the house as soon as we arrived. The rooms, bathrooms and common areas were very clean and comfy. The breakfast assortment was worth not having to seek out food on your own if you are a breakfast eater, plus the OJ is delish! Dealing with the staff over the phone and through email was easy and with swift response. I totally recommend this place for any traveler stopping in Brussels, as you can walk everywhere and was easily accessible by train.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rylly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

The location was great. It was close to the Metro, (which is easy to learn riding the system) right on the main blvd, along a street of trendy bars and resturants, and super close to the Grand Palace. The room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. The staff was sweet and accomodating. Only downside was the multiple keys and winding stairs. For the very modest price, everything was great. The BXL was really a integral part of our wonderful trip to Brussels.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
1.2 mi away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#3 of 15 in Ixelles
497 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Catalonia Grand Place
Catalonia Grand Place
#59 of 199 in Brussels
271 reviews
0 mi away
Art de Sejour
Art de Sejour
#1 of 212 in Brussels
207 reviews
0.9 mi away
L'Art de la Fugue
L'Art de la Fugue
#3 of 9 in Saint-Gilles
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown-BXL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown-BXL

Address: Rue du Marche au Charbon 118, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 212 B&Bs / Inns in Brussels
Price Range: $131 - $1,177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Downtown-BXL 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Downtown-BXL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown-Bxl Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing