We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not wow, not terrible.”
Review of Hotel Aviation

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aviation
Ranked #174 of 209 Brussels B&B and Inns
Malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not wow, not terrible.”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The positives: The hotel is a short (c. 5 minutes) walk from Gare du Midi. It seems new or recently refurbished. I was concerned about construction noise mentioned in other reviews, but I guess by the time I stayed there, any works had been completed. There was no exceptional noise to speak of. The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming.
The negatives: The area around the Gare du Midi and the area en route to the hotel felt slightly dodgy, although I have to say I saw or experienced nothing of concern. There is little to do in terms of restaurant and cafe options in the area close to the hotel. The hotel is nicely furnished but the finishing leaves a lot to be desired....bathroom tiles with no grouting, wires hanging from the roof, a safe which was not bolted to the cabinet. In addition, the reception staff speak next to no English, making the simplest requests a daunting task.
Breakfast was served in the restaurant next to the hotel - it was a very average spread, which is typical of this level of hotel.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a short business trip especially if one needs to be close to the Gare du Midi. However in terms of location, there could be better options closer to hubs of activity in Brussels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon_MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    52
    84
    53
    49
See reviews for
18
116
22
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miratejo
Level Contributor
274 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

The hotel seems to be very new and not completely finished. But it was very confortable and the room was great. Nothing bad to say about this hotel. They Let us to check ou at 12:00 although it was supposed to be at 10:30. The breakfast was really Nice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank invocator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

very close to MIDI station, this hotel is situated at an excellent location. furniture and decor brand new, though not to my taste, Great matrasses. Noise from traffic quite loud, but almost absent with double glazed windows closed. In spite of the fact I do not like closed windows, nor noise, I slept like a baby, overslept twice, so missed breakfast.
VERY helpful staff.
Renovations did not bother me, WIFi was fast and good,
Only stairs was dangerous, it was naroow, without grips and door on top of it opened the wrong way.
Overall I think you get good value for money and these people are eager to learn so communication would maybe be more helpful than anger or complaints

Room Tip: I liked the room in the front because of the view on the square and the aviation lamps there, but if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria_1550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Spent one night here after a long enough trip back from bruge. On arrival we were told the lift wasn't working. There was no lift - just an empty lift shaft. Renovations were taking place during our stay. Lay down for a nap in the afternoon but the noise of hammers and drills was dreadful. Because there was no lift operating everyone had to use the stairs just opposite our room. The hinges of the the stairwell was badly in need of oiling. It screeched like a banshee every time it was used. From 7.30 to 8 am the door wailed seven times. Absolutely dreadful. In its favour the breakfast was very good but you had to go to the restaurant situated next door to the hotel. The staff were helpful and it is within walking distance of both the city centre and brussels midi train station here you can gets to both Charleroi and Brugge airport

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Midi-Zuid
Hotel Midi-Zuid
#19 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Floris Ustel Midi
Floris Ustel Midi
#2 of 6 in Anderlecht
3.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belvue
Hotel Belvue
#108 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#74 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Galia
Hotel Galia
#122 of 199 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Van Belle Hotel
Van Belle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Anderlecht
3.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aviation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aviation

Property: Hotel Aviation
Address: Square de l'Aviation 20, Brussels 1070, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aviation 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Aviation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing