We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved us after being stood up from our original booking”
Review of Alma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alma Hotel
Ranked #105 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My best friend and I had originally booked an apartment near the Grand Place but after being stood up we took off on foot to hopefully find another hotel near the Grand Place and at a reasonable price and hotel Alma came through for us! The price for the room was good even with the last minute booking, the staff was very friendly, room was clean and the location was AMAZING! It was just a 5 minute walk through the streets to the Grand Place and right down the hill from some great chocolate shops and restaurants. The only negative is the pillows were very flat but that really all we could find wrong.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathieu J, Responsable commercial at Alma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Hi Danielle,

Hope you are well! Thank you for sharing that you liked everything, especially our location! Hope to welcome you back anytime soon!

Kind regards,

Mathieu JACOB
Sales & Marketing Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 551 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had a one night stay at this hotel on my way home from Belgium Grand Prix 2013.
Greta location, 2 min walk to Grand Place, Loads of eating places surrounding hotel, Plenty bars to frequent, Also a 2 min walk from Brussels Central train station. Hotel has a great location.
Ally the receptionist was excellent.

Room Tip: My room had balcony onto main street, although noise never bothered me, it might bother other reside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrismuras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathieu J, Responsable commercial at Alma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Chrismuras

Thank you for your sharing your experience. Hope you come back one day & visit us again! Thank you again!

Kind regards,

Mathieu JACOB
Sales & Marketing Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Less then 5 minutes walk from the Grand Place and less then 5 minutes walk from brussels central train station. Pretty noisy if your room is on the street side and lower floors. The central air conditioning is poor at best. You can open the window but it gets noisier. Affordable and practical self-serve breakfast.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Hope-Lego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night.
Check in was ok.
Room was basic but clean, no real complaint there.
There are vents in the room but no way to control. We only found out later that the only way to control the air conditioning in the room is via the receptionist, they control it there, not in the room. We only knew that when we overheard the receptionist telling other clients. We weren't told that when we checked in with another receptionist.
Tv in the room only has 1 channel working.
Still, price and location were good.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank CK242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathieu J, Responsable commercial at Alma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Traveller;

This is really a pleasure to read your very positive comment and we warmly thank you about it.

Because our young staff members are trained to offer you the best of the best, they may have forgot to inform you that the only way to control the air-conditioning is via Reception but we hope this annoyance did not spoil your stay.

This will be a real pleasure to welcome you again at Alma Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Mathieu JACOB
Sales & Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Very good, clean, good value for money, great position! I would recommend for both families, singles and couples! It is right behind la gran place and near central station, best position for day sight seeing and night life!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiaradallagli0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathieu J, Responsable commercial at Alma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

This is really a pleasure to read your very positive comment and we warmly thank you about it.

We are happy to see that you enjoyed the Alma hotel and its surroundings.

Thanks again for your heart-warming words and we hope to welcome you soon!

Mathieu Jacob
Sales & Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Alma Hotel is a sneeze from the Square and all the sites you want to see in Brussels by foot. I loved my pied-a-terre that gave a small space a large feeling, and it was exceptionally clean. The furniture is a bit cheesy but I spent little time there using it! For location and price, I highly recommend Alma Hotel. As others mentioned, they don't serve breakfast but I didn't mind having self-serve access to coffee & croissant in the morning for 2 euros w/o having to run out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyG09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathieu J, Responsable commercial at Alma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you from the whole team, our guest’s satisfaction is always inspiring and encourages us to keep up our efforts to provide the best service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Alma Hotel.

Kind regards,

Mathieu JACOB
Sales & Marketing Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in early July in room 307. The room faces the street, but with the windows closed, it was pretty quiet. It was centrally located and near Gare Central so we could get around easily using public transportation for day trips to Antwerp and Brugge as well as visit other areas around Brussels. The wifi in the lobby worked fine. I was able to do some work and had no problems with the connection. The room was basic, but we didn't spend much time in the room besides sleeping, so it worked well for us. The staff was very helpful, some more than others. Also, they asked us to leave our key at the front desk when leaving for the day for security reasons, in case the key was lost/stolen because the room number is written on the key. It got pretty hot since the weather was warm and sunny while we were there, and it was nice to come back to the room to find the staff had turned on the A/C without our having to ask. We had coffee and a croissant in the self service buffet each morning which was really convenient for us since it seemed hard to find good cheap coffee around there.
Overall, it was a great value for the amount of money we paid. We booked through hotels.com and got a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseB60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#108 of 199 in Brussels
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#70 of 199 in Brussels
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agora Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
La Legende Hotel
La Legende Hotel
#98 of 199 in Brussels
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
easyHotel Brussels City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Hotel

Address: Rue des Eperonniers 42-44 | Spoormakersstraat 42-44, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: $73 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Brussels! Situated in the historic centre of Brussels, Hotel Alma is 5 minutes' walk away from the Gare Centrale and public transport (tram, bus, metro). This makes it very easy for you to get to the heart of the European quarter or to the Atomium. Just leave Hotel Alma to find your happiness, whatever it may be: a nice little café or a Michelin starred restaurant, trendy bars and old bistros, Belgian beers, exhibitions, stately homes and quarters. Even if you're on a tight schedule, you'll have time to see all the sights that can't be missed: our Grand Place, so beautiful it will take your breath away (+/- 200m away), Manneken Pis (+/- 500m), Brussels' most international "Kets" and the superb Galeries Royales Saint-Hubert (+/- 500m away). Just a few steps away there is also the museum quarter and the Sablon, a square full of trendy bars, exclusive boutiques and experts in everything from chocolate to antiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Alma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Grand Palace Brussels
Hotel Alma Grand Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing