We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good place to have a nice beer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poechenellekelder

Poechenellekelder
Ranked #3 of 93 Nightlife in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ixelles, Bruxelles, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good place to have a nice beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The bar is pretty well located as it is one street away from the Grand Place. The staff is quite friendly and very helpful if you don't know what to order or want to discover new beers. Their knowledge of the beers they serve is impressive and you can feel the passion when they talk about it.

If you're in Brussels and want to try some nice beers, less common than those served in other bars, you should definitely go there. this is not a tourist attraction which makes the place even more pleasant to go. It is never packed and you can easily have a chat with some friends. I strongly believe that this is must be when you go in Brussels, with the old, Brussels type decor.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GregoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    134
    20
    5
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, great beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Friendly staff, even after knocking my beer over. The lasagne was very tasty and huge! Great seletion of beers. Creepy but fun decor.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tavmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad staff, fine beers ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Last night, my mum and I went for a few beers to this place. Seeing the rating at TA, we thought it would be a good idea to go here and have some quality time with some beer. The great variety of beers is fantastic, and it is served in a way it should be. However, after our first beer, we had to wait for more than 40 minutes, meanwhile, other tables got served multiple times, but we were somehow ignored, although the waiter had seen our glasses were empty and we wanted to order some more (note: we were willing to drink some more expensive beer and we have been polite to the personnel). This made us decide to go somewhere else. Too bad.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jipkereist
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
merseyside
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“interesting place to have a beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is really a unique place to drink, there are puppets everywhere, instruments on the ceiling, a random giant fork haha and countless other random things. There are loads of beers available and you are given complimentary pretzels. Staff are lovely, definitely worth a visit!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and lots of choice of beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stumbles upon this bar while wandering around Brussels one afternoon and had noticed it been rated number 1 on TA so we decided to revisit it later in the evening.

The atmosphere was great and all the staff were very friendly and helpful with our choices and we got a complimentary pot of nibbles when we ordered beers (they were like pretzels etc). They were serving food still at around 10-11pm however we never ate but the food looked and smelt great.

There were lots of mannequins and puppets all over the place on the walls, dangling from the roof, just everywhere.

Would recommend this bar to anyone who wants a beer, lots of choice to choose from and cosy place to sit and chat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poechenellekelder also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Poechenellekelder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing