We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST spaghetti I've ever had! (Random, I know)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Poechenellekelder

Poechenellekelder
Ranked #4 of 95 Nightlife in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The BEST spaghetti I've ever had! (Random, I know)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Right beside the Mannekin Pis is this adorable Belgian bar (with a few food choices!). We had been walking around and seeing the sights all day and we were ready for a meal and beer. We asked for a recommendation for the beer (and they offered a delicious choice) and we both ordered the Spaghetti (although there were a few other options). Out came the heartiest and most delicious bowl of Spaghetti I've had in years... didn't expect to have that in Belgium! But it was a fun location as we sat outside and got to watch tourists walk by and pose with the fountain and it was in the heart of fun shops on the cobblestone streets. I'd love to go back one day!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Krista M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    136
    21
    5
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great spot for a quick drink - or a few slow ones...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

First visit to this place and very glad we stopped for a few beers on a rainy afternoon. The decor is fantastically quirky, with all the puppets etc on the walls and hanging up as well as a large Father Christmas sat at a table ready for someone to join him for a drink! Staff are very friendly and knowledgeable and were happy to advise. We tried a few different festive brews as well as some other classics - we also had some bar snacks, the mixed plate of cheese and salami, which was very nice and complemented the beers perfectly. They also serve other foods and snacks, which smelled great. Thoroughly recommended, will be back!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melissa12952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fab quick lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Quite dark but very interesting bar with loads of beers, lovely simply and yummy lunches and friendly staff. Lots of puppets which are a little creepy but it gives the place character and I love the quirkiness. Just next to the 'pissing boy' but not overrun and outrageously priced. Would go back. Not great for kids but they are happy to have them, no kids menu or high chairs but if it just a quick lunch, go for it. Stairs to get in.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveltastica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome spot for drinks anytime of the day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Awesome service!! Best beer selection! The servers were very friendly and knowledgeable about every beer we had. There were 4 in my group and we had several rounds with no repeat orders. The location is also great since you can sit and watch everyone gather around to take pics of the pissing baby (not impressed). I thought the pricing was very reasonable especially considering that we basically gave the waiters a type of beer we liked and let them choose several for us. We never had a round for 4 go over 20 euros. If you are in the area or planning a trip and love to drink awesome beers this bar is a must. Also you get to see the creepy puppets in the basement on your way to the restroom!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Poechenellekelder Brussels - simply one of the city's best beer bars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Warm, friendly, welcoming bar with 130± beers, including (it has to be said) very high-priced gueuze (€8.20 cf €4.20-€5.00 elsewhere). Beer list is well-presented and if you need help, just ask the knowledgeable waiters. At Christmas there is a good list of Christmas and winter beers (30±). Sip your beer, relax and take in the artefacts: puppets, prints, beer bottles pointing perilously upside-down over your head, souvenirs of the Mannekin-pis of local groups such as the Order of Faro (a local beer). Food is limited to very good lasagne and sandwiches. Downstairs you'll find extra seating and a puppet theatre. The only downside about this bar is that it closes on Mondays! On the upside, children are not encouraged - there is nothing for them here until they're 18.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chouffe6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poechenellekelder also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Poechenellekelder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing