We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer, beer and more beer.”
Review of Poechenellekelder

Poechenellekelder
Ranked #3 of 96 Nightlife in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Logrono, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beer, beer and more beer.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great selection of beer and friendly wait staff. Quaint terrace near the Mannekin Pis. Lively area on the weekend nights.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lpkspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    138
    21
    5
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Spoilt for choice”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a great place to go, if you want to sample the best of Belgian Beers. Close to the Grand Place it's easy to find and prices are reasonable.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Suze009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Staff not attentive at all”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The bar is beautiful inside really quirky and unique and right opposite the mannequin pis.

We considered sitting outside of the bar but it was a little busy and the staff seemed very attentive there, but we wanted to see what all the fuss was about on the inside of the bar.

We took a table and waited, waited then waited some more. The girl behind the bar just glared at us. So we took ourselves off in search of some where else.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tanya10091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG, Brazil
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice pub round the corner of Manneken Pis”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Besides being very interesting (see inner part) the terrasse is probably the best way to enjoy Manneken Pis. The service is correct, prices are ok considering the place it is. the menu offers some of the most Bruxeleer tipical dishes (rollmops, pottekees, cervelas...) and loads of great Belgian beers with a special care for Lambic/gueuze the traditional Brussels beer. Great pit-stop on the whereabouts of the Grand Place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JFSauveur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Fun Vibe”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was a fun bar, right next to the Pissing Boy fountain. Because it was so noisy outside with the hundreds of people taking pictures of the fountain, we decided to go inside. So glad we did. The bar was filled with all kinds of memorabilia, ranging from Crossbows, Marionettes, old musical instruments, and mannequins of military officers. There was only one waiter hussling like a mad man. We had to wait a while for him to take our order. We enjoyed listening to the American music, including Frank Sinatra and The Beach Boys, while my husband drank a Trappist beer, and I had a pleasant glass of Rose' to go with our snack plate of cheese and sausage. All in all, it was a fun time, and great place to kick back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrinhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poechenellekelder also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Poechenellekelder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing