We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abrussel

Abrussel
Ranked #40 of 3,522 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: Belgian, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Open from monday until sunday for lunch and dinner. ABrussel is a small restaurant only working with a small menu who is changing every month. Cuisine is simple, with a classic or more inventive choice. There is always a vegetarian choice available, as a Fish and a Belgian choice. We try to make our service friendly but not strict. Abrussel kids groups until 55 person. Possibility of privatisation of the first floor or the whole restaurant.
Changzhi, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

The food and service was very good. We enjoyed our menu with a good wine. We liked the modern design.

Helpful?
Thank ChinaBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    185
    56
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Locked out on New Year's Eve”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Furious about this. My reservation was confirmed by the booking site resto.be but when we arrived at 8:30pm on New Year's Eve the restaurant was full. The proprietor Marc said that he had sent me an email cancelling the reservation but I did not and still have not received any such email. So family of four sent on our way in the rain with vague directions of where we might find a table on the busiest night of the year. No surprise that we struggled and ended up going back to our hotel to eat. I'm sure this was a mix up between resto.be and the restaurant, but it was handled very poorly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc l, Propriétaire at Abrussel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
I cannot understand why i receive a bad critic from someone who just didn't enter the restaurant.
It goes directely again the principe of Tripadvisor Who is trying to give a classement based on reviews from people who taste the restaurant.
Why didn't you write a review on restobooking in the place of TripAdvisor?
Isn't there you reserve your table? Isn't them who didn't let you know the reservation was canceled? It is not my faut if their site dosn't work properly, because as I said you, when I receive the booking, I directely inform them I couldn't take the reservation and they (normaly) automaticaly send a mail to cancel the booking.
Why then make a review on tripadvisor (your first reveiw...) if it is not just to damage the image of the restaurant ABrussel.
As I said, it goes realy again the politic of Tripdvisor who try to give a total feedback (Kitchen, service, atmosphere, quality/price)...
I think you neither try one of them.
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Great little find thanks to tripadvisor.
Small venue but was greeted by welcoming staff, they were patient why we perused over the menu.
When food came it was fantastic, I had the hare which was delicious.
Wine left a little to be desired but I was warned by the waiter on my choice so that was more my fault rather than there's. Overall excellent value, excellent service, excellent food & would highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank nho02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennik
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Affordable restaurant with good food and excellent service in Brussels City Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Positives:

- excellent location (close to the "Grand-Place")
- excellent price-quality ratio
- excellent service (even in Dutch by one of the servants)
- nice food
- nice selection of drinks

Negatives:

- atmosphere a bit busy due to limited space (we knew this in advance though)
- ridiculous small glass of wine for the price you pay

A restaurant to be recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tommy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
172 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We chose based on trip advisor reviews but were disappointed with the meal. Firstly the glass of wine for 4.80€ was only approx. 100ml. The entire bottle was only 24€. We shared a goats cheese, red pepper and tapenade starter which tasted good, but I expected more of the red pepper. For main course we chose the steak and chips and the poultry galletes. The steak was cooked beautifully, and was a tasty piece of beef but the chips were oily, soggy, the sauce was insipid and the salad of iceberg lettuce was dull. The chicken galletes was a shock of one large chicken mince patty, I guess the translation was ´for a chicken biscuit. The flavour was good, including the polenta and veges, but the size of the patty was off putting and I could not finish the meal. Finally, the dessert of strawberry crumble was inedible. It was just crumble with almost no fruit, dry and floury. For all of this and water the bill was approx. 50€. If this is the style of food you are looking for I suggest going to Publico.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank r0adfill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc l, Propriétaire at Abrussel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
I can understand that you don't like my way of cooking, we cannot please to everybody and I'm sure you will prefer to go in a Michelin classed restaurant (not the same price) but when you talk falsely about he wine, I have to react.

All glasses wine are 15 cl and if you can tell: 5x15=75 just a bottle
The price now: 5 x 4.80 (price of the glass) = 24.00 Oh, just the price of the bottle!
CQFD ;-)
So, what's the problem?

Also, price by the glass begin at €3.80 and €18.00 the bottle and we serve all wines by the glass...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abrussel also viewed

 

Been to Abrussel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing