We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“consistent standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Verde - CLOSED

El Verde
Cuisines: Latin, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
NEWPORT, UK
Level Contributor
177 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“consistent standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

this tends to be a quick lunchtime stop, being well placed between several offices. The service is always cheerful, the meals interesting and the plat du jour inexpensive and fast. Consistency is the name of the game here, though I had a slight preference for when it was el vergel

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeWNewport_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    16
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The place is called el vergel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Fod is good, atmospher, too.


Address El Vergel
39, rue du Trône
1050 Elsene (Brussels)
Belgium
Do not waste time, book online:
Which service do you want to book:
Mon 27 May 2013 at 12:00 - Lunch
Number of guests to book:
2 people
Last reservation at this restaurant: 19 hours ago for a party of 2 people.
Phone 02-502.69.30
Urban agglomeration / District Place du Luxembourg - Station
Website n/c
Type of food Latin American

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Youthful appearance but food is forgetable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I don't mind to go from time to time in an outlet that has an less formal appeal but I am not willing to have a poor meal. The food in El Verde does not live up to any standard at all. Plates with lots of salad, Pitiful pita on a hard flatbread small amount of tzatziki not worth the price they ask.
Hygiene of plates, knives and kitchen seems questionable.
Never again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank robfets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWPORT, UK
Level Contributor
177 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“El Vergel becomes EL VERDE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

almost the same but it has lost some edge and atmosphere ....this used to be a haunt as the office was next door but we revisited it, only after sitting down did we notice that there was a subtle change to El Verde, although the new cypriot owner assured us that all stayed the same. However, it took much longer to get served than usual and the meal was OK rather than delicious as usual. The fetah was so salty we downed 1/2 l of wine to get over it, the guacamole seemed to be not fresh and very very dark in colour. Price was resaonable as usualy, but I miss the old cuisine, while some of the graffiti could do with being cleaned up....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeWNewport_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We went there for dinner. Big disappointment. We ordered:
Guacamole: oxidazed and tasteless served with greasy nachos
Churrasco palta: beef in a dry bread, nothing special;
Chichen tacos were served cold: tortillas spread with a very dry bean paste, chicken also very dry; grated cheese not melted, put there directly from pack, tomatoes were smashed;
Belgian beer was served in water glasses.
Apparently everybody can open a restaurant nowadays... but where is the quality of the food?! I went out feeling sick and thinking to myself: never again!
Price is expensive for what we get.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Coroaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Verde also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
 
Watermael-Boitsfort, Brussels
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing