We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly atmosphere”

Churchill's The English Pub
Ranked #612 of 3,557 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Lovely little 'pub' exceptionally nice friendly staff (Canadian and English!). The euro burger was the best burger ever!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank loubieloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice late night spot”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stumbled into this place probably when they should have been closing. Really nice staff who let us chill out for as long as we want, in quantitative terms was roughly 5 pints of cider.

For an English put it was a bit Irish (which is what I prefer anyway!) with Irish Cider, an Irish ale plus Guinness. Then there was the usual range of Belgian beers. Topped off with some bailey's and Jameson (separate glasses) :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazey82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Pub for beer & burger”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our intent was to stop for one beer but we ended up spending a couple of hours. As with most places in Brussels, they had a nice selection of beers. The bartender was amiable and knowledgeable. While there, we saw a few "Irish Burgers" come out and they looked so good that we ordered one. It was a very good burger and definitely worth the 6 euros. Overall, a really good spot to relax.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SPfromTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Friendly Central Brussels sports pub”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I popped into this friendly little pub not far from Grand Place to watch some Monday night football. The atmosphere was pretty laid back, as it should have been with a total of six people in there. Even-so the bar man was happy to recommend some local brews (as I was a novice with Belgian Beer) and I liked them all. The music was indie/rock but was restricted to the upstairs bar when the match started. I didn't try any food although the €6 burger looked pretty good. A decent place to waste a couple of hours. When I walked by the following night Churchills was packed out.

Iain, London

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool, england
Level Contributor
197 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Nice Pub, Good Beer & English Tea”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Have spent a few hours on a few trips in here; several tv's show a variety of sports, and they will fulfil requests too - like the rugby league semi finals - which most sports bars were not showing.

The barman (a rugby fan from Hull) was very helpful, working out our best routes to places to avoid cobbles and to get metros with lift access for my wheelchair, and directing us to places with toilets that are not up or downstairs!

During the weekend evenings they also have live bands, I think the atmosphere would be good, but loud downstairs (and I cant get upstairs).

A good range of beers, and a good cup of tea too. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juejosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churchill's The English Pub also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Churchill's The English Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing