We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer, food ok too”
Review of Poechenellekelder

Poechenellekelder
Ranked #21 of 3,623 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Good beer, food ok too”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Staff really knew their stuff - we tried beers we'd never tried before. I'd definitely recommend a stop there for beer and snacks

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Surreyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    532
    304
    49
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I expected much better. The beer selection was nothing special, and the dolls were creepy as fudge. We stayed for one beer, and left as soon as we could. Life is too short for mediocre bars.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thinkpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great beers, quirky decor!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Fortunately we learned of this great beer stop before visiting Brussels or might have missed it. It is very near the famous Mannekin Pis statue which is a very busy corner of Brussels. Once you've seen the little man, what to do??? Go directly it this charming spot and enjoy the unique puppet decor, excellent beer and accommodating service.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bossfan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is a great place for a quiet beer. so much character to the pub which serves a good selection of beer. not a noisy as some places so worth it if you wnat a quiet drink with a bit of character.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DistantTraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Extensive beer menu, limited food options”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We planned on swinging by the (overrated) Mannekin Pis on our way here for a light lunch... light indeed! Barely any food on the menu but a great beer selection. We tried our share of ales and scooted out to another place for a bite. Had I known I would only be drinking, I might not have been disappointed but the drinking experience was good enough.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EssSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poechenellekelder also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Poechenellekelder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing