We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing restaurant in a tourist area near Grand Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bia Mara

Bia Mara
Ranked #23 of 3,521 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fresh Sustainable Fish & Chips Concept. Fresh fish only at our beloved restaurant where we are trying to change the style of traditional Fish & Chips by using our very own 'street food' interpretation of the classic British dish. We are influenced by cuisines & cultures from all over the world and love the challenge of creating new styles regularly. We have a small restaurant so we cannot take reservations. With 30+ recipes, 20+ sauces & over 25 types of sustainable fish that change weekly we hope you find your style! EAT MORE FISH. Bia Mara
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing restaurant in a tourist area near Grand Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This amazing little restaurant was a perfect getaway from all of the tourist locations in Brussels. The fish and chips were amazing and my kids loved the chicken fingers. These are the kinds of new places which will send the old guard restaurants out of business as social media continues to take over. Don't get me wrong, I had some amazing food in Brussels, but I also several bad experiences from rude waiters. This is not the case at Bia Mara. The staff was amazing and spent the time to explain the different selections they had on the menu. It is a limited menu but this quiant little place was awesome. This place was excellent, and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madhat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    854
    505
    107
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worldwide
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just what Brussels needs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

After reading about Bia Mara in the Eurostar magazine I gave this place a go as it sounded great.
I wasn't disappointed!
Unlike London, Brussels is lacking in eateries that you can just turn up and get something tasty and reasonably priced.
This place really does tick all the boxes, great service, trendy interior and amazing grub.
Sea bass special of the day was great and the wedged chips had the home made taste, unlike the Belgian refried frites that are all over the city but I personally find over rated.
Definitely have the mushy peas, minty and fresh.
The table layout could lead to you having to wait for a table at times but it's worth the wait.
The only other place i've found like this in 2 years in Brussels is Mamma Roma and that now has multiple restaurants. I hope Bia Mara catches on, i'll definitely be recommending it to friends and colleagues.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MurkingOverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Must-Go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Have fish and chips in style! In this minimally decorated place, your stomach will be filled with one of the tastiest fish and chips in Brussels. If you like richer flavored fish, I recommend Cajun Pollock with big chunks of soft chips with crispy skin, dipping it in truffle sauce. For a health-conscious person like me, this meal was a delight still. Tag along some friends to make the meal more enjoyable. If you want to wind down quietly after a walk around downtown, this is also the place for you (I went there around 2PM it's not busy at all).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuni_Nunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sustainable fish and chips in downtown Brussels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

What a great find! 10 euro menu with homemade chips (skin on!) and an assortment of sauces on the side. The menu is simple and straight forward: exactly what is needed with no additional fuss = great value for excellent quality. Bia Mara is not afraid to modify their menu based on seasonal availability and respect for sustainable fishing. The portions of fish were a bit small and the portions of chips quite generous. A handful of known beers are available to accompany the meal. for desperate wine drinkers only, house wine available. The decor is simple, straightforward, and pleasing, just like the menu. A good ventilation means that you don't smell like fish when you leave... the ultimate bonus!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Reasonable addition to town eateries”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

There is a lack of "fast" food (i.e. no reservation, no queuing for an hour like at Fin de Siecle) in Brussels centre so Bia Mara is a fitting idea. I liked the no fuss decor and the staff were friendly. I thought the food let it down a bit though. The fish was fine but fairly bland and the chips were really what I would call potato wedges and not crispy. I guess the intention is to provide unusual fish and seasonings but why not have the option of straight battered cod/haddock and chips which is famous the world over? Totally missing from Brussels except freezer to fryer versions in Fatboys and Irish boozers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stevieboy884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bia Mara also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Bia Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing